What is one thing you would like to learn more about, but haven’t been able to?

Much like @thediarymaster I have always been interested in physics, space, dark matter, black holes, the unknown and the not-quite-understood part of the natural world. I’m not a religious person… not in the traditional sense at least. I’m in awe of nature. I loved how Carl Sagan saw the natural world. That’s how I like to see it… as an almost spiritual experience. And I love to learn as much as I can and as much as I can comprehend.

But I have already read a ton of books on this subject, so I’m not going to list it as the thing I would like to learn more about. Though I’m going to use a science-y photo for my feature image, because science is just plain awesome. 😁

I know a lot about this field already. At least for a person that is not a professional.

What I REALLY want to read more about is the stock market. I got into putting money in the stock market about 3-4 years ago. The first stock I bought was Twitter… and that was a horrible mistake. I soon sold it off at a loss, because I was terrible at buying stock… and selling it!

I’m a little better now. I have some good performers including Apple, Tesla, Facebook and Netflix. I listened to some sage advice from a friend who has a much better portfolio than myself: Buy stock in companies you love and believe in. So now that’s what I do now.

However, there’s a lot about the stock market I still don’t know or fully grasp. Stock market is still complicated to me and I would like to research and understand it better. I would also like to keep more on top of it to up my game when I comes to sussing out things to buy and when to sell.

Log in to write a note
December 24, 2017

When to sell is the hard part.

Maybe the best strategy is to buy stocks you want to hold forever.

I’m a little leery of buying anything now when the indexes are at record highs.

Even Cisco finally fell back into favor with the herd. There is a company I heard about that’s building storage batteries for colleges that have windmills. It was out of favor with the herd when I heard about it. I haven’t done any followup so I don’t know where it is now.

I joined Audible in 2002. It was one of the best things I ever did. I get two audiobooks a month for 25-75% less than the retail price. I looked into the company. Their stock was hovering around 50 cents because the herd had been burned by tech stocks. I also felt it was a risky buy because I could see defects in their IP protection. It was weak to non-existent. Every teenaged hacker and her brother could hack it. Guess what? The herd didn’t care and now it’s high apple pie in the sky.

Good luck and merry Christmas. Or happy happy whatever you celebrate. If you’re in the northern hemisphere the days are getting longer. That makes me happy.

December 27, 2017

Audible is a neat company. I was going to interview with them in 2008-ish at their office in Newark for a copywriting job (I have a friend that still works there that told me about it), but it was filled before I had a chance to apply.

December 31, 2017

All I know is from Economics 101 – I remember supply and demand. When the demand is high, the supply becomes lower, and “they” can charge more. While this sounds like a flip answer, it is not – I’ve only ever had enough money to invest in food. 🙂

Now then, have you seen Neil DeGrasse Tyson’s Cosmos series? It is absolutely awesome!

December 31, 2017

Yup, I saw the series when it was on and also have it on DVD. I have the original Cosmos with Carl Sagan on DVD too, but I haven’t seen all of them yet. Really wish FOX did more than one season of Cosmos. Feel like we need it more than ever these days…

January 1, 2018

All I know about the stock market I learned from Michael Lewis.

If you didn’t read Flash Boys yet I expect you’ll love it for a lot of reasons but mostly because computer programmers are the heroes and the technology is described in such professionally accurate detail.

https://www.amazon.com/Flash-Boys-Wall-Street-Revolt/dp/0393351599

January 1, 2018

Thanks! Added to Amazon Wish List 😀

January 2, 2018

@Mike Atari: I remember learning to read the stock market pages in the newspaper, and “playing” a stock market game in class!! But, in real life I have only money for needs related to housing, living, eating, etc. I am NOT a pauper, but, no money to invest, so far, LOL!! 🙂