Pause…

Going on the third week of confinement in my apartment, fourth week of teleworking, we were at P’s place the first week.

We ended up at my place because of location, and well, the cat.

What’s the phrase? Familiarity breeds contempt? I don’t think we’re there, but I’m afraid of it happening.

No relationship is made to be on top of each other 24/7. Heck, even my cat, the world’s most sociable, attention loving cat, has been hiding out in the bedroom while we work in the living room.

I’m grateful, I still have my job, I have a good income, I’m not alone in my apartment, but I’m also frustrated. My job feels useless, I don’t feel like I’m contributing anything… I feel bad that I’m home making phone calls and paperwork when I could be out doing something about this damn pandemic. I’ve now had two ‘false hopes’. First of helping out as a lab tech/nurse for one of the researchers at the institute working on a possible treatment… that was three weeks ago and nothing since. And the second of working with a screening clinic at the Institute for people that have had Covid-19 and are now non-symptomatic… it’s been amost two weeks on that one and no news either.

I’m bored, I miss people…

My best friend had her first child two weeks ago, I haven’t seen her other than on video.

I read 4 books at least, played a bunch of online board games, started a video game, watched some Netflix, did a bunch of laundry… did a bit of apartment cleaning (but not a ton, let’s be honest)… what’s left? Took a few walks

Anytime we could take life off pause… I’m all for it.

Log in to write a note