There’s no place like this

I know a lot of people will probably not return to Open Diary. I know some people have gone private. I know I haven’t made it here in a very long time. But just perusing the first page, I see what is so special about this place. I could never get what I get here through any of the high and mighty social media platforms. I want to reconnect; reconnect with old friends, explore new ones.

Oh, I probably won’t stop going on FB; and just to keep up with my kids, I still have to figure out how Instagram works. But there is a depth and wealth here simply not to be found in those terribly public, overused platforms.

So I really hope, for my own benefit, that I come here more often and get back to writing on a more regular basis about life, about exploring, and about connecting.

Log in to write a note
September 27, 2019

I only just found out this place was back, I loved it and will love it again. Sad to have lost the connections I had, but hoping to make new ones 😁

September 27, 2019

I hope you find what you’re looking for here

September 27, 2019

I thought open diary was gone to until i typed in online diaries and was so pleased to see it was back. It’s not the same as Penzu or other online diaries where ive found them to be private only, to me to have the outlet is great, but i also think what is the point of putting (sometimes) your inner most feelings, trauma, thoughts out there, only to get nothing back…or think that it might never get read… some people need to feel the acknowledgement and connect with others, that others may just care…im glad i found out it was back 🙂

September 28, 2019

Oh I really hope you do too. I’ve only been back for a couple of weeks. I didn’t have my old email so it was a whole thing. All good now though. I’m going to be here a lot more I think. It broke me when it shut down. I was going through old entries last night and there you were. I hoped with all my heart you’d come back… and I couldn’t contain my excitement when I saw your comment. Sending you all my love.

March 17, 2020

Hoping to see you write here again 🙂 Miss ya.

CBW
September 16, 2020

I only just discovered Open Diary a handful of days ago and you are right, this is a place for Connections (I also just read your most recent entry on this topic and I really enjoyed it). Even though I have only been on here a few days and spoken with a few people I have felt positivity and a real camaraderie. Humans are meant to form bonds and create. Platforms like this are perfect for that purpose. Also, you are right about over used (and not to mention corrupt) platforms like Facebook/Instagram/Twitter being devoid of “depth and wealth” as you aptly put it.  There is substance, honesty and quality here on Open Diary because it’s just people literally laying open their lives, and that’s beautiful. I’m a big people person and I love writing so discovering this kind of platform felt like fresh life being breathed into me (especially during the madness that is the period of history we are living through), so here’s to keeping the Connections alive new friend!