Puppy’s 3rd Birthday

Today is my dog’s third birthday. I’d post a photo of him, but Idk how. 🤷‍♀️

Took my father in law for chemo today, but since he doesn’t eat and barely drinks, they wouldn’t do the treatment. Instead they just pumped him with a liter of fluid and some nausea meds. He just cannot comprehend why he feels so lousy and weak. Well when you don’t eat, that’s what’s gonna happen! Smh. It’s so frustrating. I’m gonna call his insurance company tomorrow and see if I can be paid to be his caregiver. I know some states do that, NJ being one of them. So since I was laid off of work, this would help, bc then I don’t have to worry about a job and his doctor appointments. Is there anyone here who was a caregiver for a loved one? It’s just physically, mentally, and emotionally draining. Especially when they fight you on every single thing.

I could definitely go for a vacation on a beach somewhere, with some sort of coconut cocktail in hand. I’m so not a beach person, even though I’ve lived within walking distance of one my entire life, but I definitely need to be somewhere warm!

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
January 19, 2021

I was a live-in caregiver for a family member for two years as she went through diagnosis and chemotherapy. She was a nurse practioner until she became ill. Being the patient was a different ballgame entirely. She had always been independent and in control of everything around her. What was important that she maintain as much control, and illusion of control if that makes sense, as possible. I found new ways to plant ideas that she could think about and accept as her own. It IS the most physically, mentally, and emotionally exhausting thing you will ever do.  It can also be the best thing you ever do. I think this is coming out all wrong, but the fact that you are asking the question tells me you are on the right track. Please don’t forget to take care of you, too!

January 19, 2021

And happy birthday to your puppy!

January 19, 2021

I was my mom and dad’s caregiver. And I worked a full time job during both processes. I totally get where you are coming from, and I would sincerely encourage you to seek out compensation through the state. If your FIL is a veteran, there might be even more money to be had.

I know exactly what you mean about wanting a vacation. I just told my best friend, when we hit a small weight goal, like 30 pounds or something- we’re going to our favorite quirky hotel for a weekend. Time by the pool with a pink fruity drink is much needed.

January 19, 2021

Seems like he is getting tired of fighting. It’s sad to see someone give up. You should so check into that. I know if my mum ever gets bad I can get paid for being her caregiver. Crap I doubt could now. Coconut drink and some sun sounds so good!

January 19, 2021

Forgot to say Happy Paws day to your little pup!