the law of conservation of happiness

The second before our first kiss,
I wonder if such a blissful act
might not in turn detach
another’s lips, unsuspecting and thirsty,
from their own love’s, in enforcement
of some inescapable law of equilibrium;
but still I do not hesitate,
certain of a counterbalance.

(to remember: still not happy with last 2 lines… change to something about counterbalance being so weighty why would i ever try to avoid it?)

Log in to write a note
May 13, 2018

Lovely metaphor, and thanks for the compliment, I’ll take anything X)
I certainly notice parallels in your writing as well. And it sounds funny, but I love discovering writing similar to my own – it should probably be the opposite, but I’m sure there’s nothing wrong with it!

This one… I believe I should convert to prose. The sound falls apart after the first half and becomes clunky. I’ve converted one or two others, though my other prose pieces started off intentionally. Or maybe I’ll just re-write what I don’t like… meh it can sit there and fester for a while.