A Question for You All

Alright people of OpenDiary. I need your simple opinion on this situation!

My father is in town and we haven’t seen each other in over 15 years, nor spoken on the phone in over 4. Should I go visit him tomorrow?

Answer 1 for: Yes, of course, he’s your dad, even if you aren’t close.
Answer 2 for: No, why would you do that? You hardly know each other!

Thanks in advance for your help OD-friends!

Log in to write a note
February 18, 2012

I assume he invited you to plans of some sort. This means he’s making an effort? Sort of? If this is the case, do it. You’re better than he is anyways, so if it’s awful, you can leave & be no worse off than before, because you knew he was absent. If you don’t go, won’t you wonder what it would have been like if you had? You should go see him, but make room to leave if he’s a jerk or it’s b

February 18, 2012

oring or what have you.

February 18, 2012

Answer 1, though I wouldn’t feel weird about avoiding Visit #2 if, after Answer 1, there’s no chemistry, or you find toxicity in the relationship. Srsly.

Definitely 1. Hope you enjoy the visit if you choose to go for it. 🙂

ryn;; Sir Bites a Lot is our piranha! He’s about the size of a fully extended hand, maybe just a tad longer.

May 15, 2012

Remember Billy Pilgrim and our trip to Tralfamador? I have a new journal. I missed you x

June 18, 2012

ryn: Thank you! And yeah, the TV over the fireplace thing… I had it that way in the last house I was living in. Found out that the trick is to get a hanger that tilts out. Much more comfortable! 🙂