Wedding Day Eve

Yes. Yes.

A letter to my love, on the eve of our wedding:

Erik,

The favours are filled, tied and labeled. The menus are printed, the programs are folded. The Lego cake-topper will be assembled tomorrow before the reception.

The wine is chosen, the food is picked. The dress is altered and steamed, the flowers are cut and sorted into vases, bouquets and boutonnières wrapped and ready.

The ceremony is written, the seating plan is complete.

The vows are finished, the playlists are completed & organized, and the photographers are ready.

My mother will cry and your mother will probably cry. Will you cry? I know I will.

I am so excited. The nerves and fear and anxiety will kick in tomorrow some time, but for now, I am not worried.

People keep asking if we’re ready. They ask if there’s anything else to be done. The answer is yes, we’re ready. And then the answer is no – if there’s anything that isn’t done by now, it’s not important enough to worry about and won’t get done anyway.

People ask if we’re worried about the weather. The answer is no, because if something happens that we don’t like, there’s nothing to be done about it. I can’t hold back the sky and I don’t want to waste my energy worrying about silly things like that.

You showed me your vows last night before bed. I cried.

Then I furiously rewrote my own today – not to match yours or compete, but because I suddenly felt that mine were too silly, too light hearted after reading yours. They were so meaningful and touching and I should never have doubted that you would get them done and do such an impossibly beautiful job.

After a lot of false-start attempts, I finally came up with something that compliments your vows. I love them and can’t wait to read them to you tomorrow.

I am ready to marry you tomorrow. I am excited to start this chapter of my life with you. I am so proud to get to call you my husband in just a little more than a day, and I can’t thank you enough for happening upon my OkCupid! profile those five short (and simultaneously long) years ago. That episode of crazy-random-happenstance has made the last five and a half years so wonderful (even during the hard times).

I am ready.

I am ready.

I love you,

Karyn

Log in to write a note
August 30, 2012

i just cried. i love you so much, kar…. i can’t wait to hear EVERYTHING about the wedding.

Oh lovelovelovelovelovelove. If this note was just the EVE of the wedding, I know you’ve got more to gush about NOW!

January 29, 2013

ryn: Oh, my gosh, really?? I’m a redditor, and I haven’t come across it! That’s hilarious! If he happened to save the link, I’d love to see. 🙂

January 30, 2013

yes. it sucked at the time but the more i think about it the more i’m glad because i wasn’t really into it either… just wanted SOMETHING and someone so i was going with it. plus he is a cool guy and i liked hanging out with him. we’ll probably continue to do that so 🙂 win situation all around.

July 16, 2013

ren: at the very least i’ll be twitterin’ and facebookin!