Oh My Love… You Don’t Know What You Do To Me

It turns out that I’m now a Mrs.

Wonderment abounds in my life because, for some reason or another, Erik said "I do" when we said some silly vows a year ago today.

Yessir.

On August 31, 2012, I got to marry this gorgeous boy.

001

We got married on a gorgeous day. It was about 23 degrees Celsius, with a beautiful blue sky and just a touch of wind to cut the heat down to size.

015

We decided to do a first look before our ceremony. It helped me keep my head – if I hadn’t seen him before the ceremony, I probably would have been a nervous wreck. Knowing I’d get to look him in the eyes, hold his hands and hear his voice kept me sane.

I cried just a tiny bit when I found him in the trees and sunlight; his suit was perfect, his shoes were awesome and the knot in his tie was my handiwork – a little crooked, not quite right and totally us. But it was his smile that made me cry. His smile absolutely made my day.

And then we laughed and laughed with our photographers, who captured us being awkward and weird all day long.

050

My bridesmaids were my closest friend Cindy and my cousin Shonna. Years ago, Shonna asked me if she could be my flower girl when Erik and I got married. I said yes, because I thought she was joking and that she’d forget about it.

I was wrong. Fantastically, delightfully wrong.

108

Erik’s best man was his friend Terry, who he’s known for many years. (Terry either looks like this or like a banker in pretty much all the pictures we have of him, wedding or otherwise. It’s pretty hilarious.)

103

I wrote very silly programs.

We spent a while saying fancy important things to each other. I giggled.

And then he kissed me. It was awesome.

And then we went to our reception, which was excellent and had five cakes. One with a Lego cake topper!
 

 

We made people sing to get us to kiss, instead of having them ring a bell or clink glasses. It was hilarious.

Our moms get along! YAY!

The entire day was excellent. And we were ecstatic.

So. It’s been a year. I haven’t thrown him over the balcony and he still hasn’t smothered me with a pillow in my sleep. So we’re clearly still doing okay!

Anyways.

Me: So, how did we do in our first year?
Erik: Well, we haven’t killed each other. So. I’d say pretty good.

– northern wind – city and colour –

Log in to write a note
September 1, 2013

So. Effing. Cute. The botha ya! I LOVE his shoes, and you look absolutely gorgeous. Congratulations, sweetie.