The Ben to my Felicity.

February is kind of a big month for Mark and I. Feb 13th marked 11 years that Mark and I ‘reconnected’. I decided on a whim to go up to St. Cloud to visit Ady, and we ran into Mark when we were out at the bars. I remember taking the bus back to her apt, sitting with Mark and just feeling those butterflies like we were back in high school.

There are other moments in this month, but the biggest is now…

That this is the month we got ENGAGED! On Monday, February 17th, Mark asked me to marry him. I got home from work, walked in the door to see Walter (our dog) sitting there in a birthday hat- it was his first birthday. Then Mark motioned for me to come up and when I turned the corner, I saw our dining room had been completely transformed. There were lights, vines, 2 small tables with chairs, wine bottles- and most notable- a projector screen with the ocean playing. I was trying to take it all in. Mark had me sit down in a “beach chair” poured me a glass of wine and then brought out a bin with sand in it so I could put my feet in it. He said since our day in CA didn’t really pan out how we wanted, he was trying to recreate it like we were at vineyard in CA. I of course had to pause the scene because I had to pee so bad. Of course I did lol. I feel like in my head I knew what was going on, but I did not want to get my hopes up. But then he started saying amazing things like he does, and then got down on one knee. I said yes to the question I had known the answer to for many many years.

We then excitedly called our families and shared the news.

I keep staring at this ring, I still am in disbelief that I am this lucky and that we found our way back to each other after so many years. That he has stuck around while I dated some really shitty people and stayed my best friend while I figured my life out.

February 17th, 2020. The day when Mark became my fiancé. 💕

Log in to write a note
February 20, 2020

Random reader here….So when is the big day?  And congratulations to you and Mark….

February 20, 2020

@jaythesmartone I am sure those details will be ironed out at some point. For now are going to enjoy being engaged 🙂 Thanks for the note and for stopping by to read!!

February 20, 2020

What a wonderful proposal story! Congratulations!

February 20, 2020

@thediarymaster Thank you!! 😀