Batten Down the Hatches

(Just a reminder, I’m over at Prosebox under the same name.  MissMeg)….

Oh, Open Diary… why must you die a slow miserable death?

Once again, rumors swirling that this is "the end"…

I have taken screen shots of my "Favorites" list (it will always be Favorites to me!) just to make sure I can have a reference list to try and find those of you who I missed if this truly does go down.

I did download my diary about a month ago, so I’m good there and have since been cross posting to Prosebox, but I just tried to do it again to cover my bases and it keeps timing out. Go figure.

Honestly, I’d stay at OD forever if I could. It’s all been said before… I love the familiarity of the place, the way each of our diaries are designed and colored and font-ed just how we like them, how each diary I visit is like visiting a friend’s home, where I can kick off my shoes and read a good book about each of your lives, leave notes of encouragement, and you can do the same for me. How even after hiatuses we come back, how some of us disappear all together but we never will forget the quirky screen names and stories.

I’m getting used to Prosebox, but it isn’t the same. It’s not comfortable, I wish we could personalize our pages more, change the font, SOMETHING to separate ourselves from the masses. And this is a small design thing that is merely a pet peeve of mine and may sound a little obsessive and weird, but I HATE CIRCLE PROFILE PICTURES. It’s happened to my iPhone, Instagram, and now it’s happening here. I can’t explain it, but it makes me bonkers and makes me want to go into visual convulsions. Ever since my days in graphic design class in college, I detested circles and round corners. I want square! SQUARE I TELL YOU! (I think I may have to put that in the suggestion box….!)

I’m also in a pretty bad mood these last couple days. TMI, but I think my period is coming back after a whole year hiatus… I’m feeling crampy and VERY short tempered, but I’m also on almost zero sleep since Jasper’s ear infection has been keeping him up at night and Wesley likes to get up at SIX IN THE MORNING which is also about five minutes after I finally get the baby back to sleep. I also have a sinus infection of some sort, and it’s cold and windy and oh did I mention Nathan is about 400 miles away and I have no idea when he’ll be back?

::blink blink::

Well, no matter what, if OD goes down, I’m so glad I still have SOMEWHERE to vent all my frustrations!!

 

…. even if they do have circle profile pictures.

Log in to write a note

I’m with you, darlin’. It’s just so QUIET around here these days, you know? ♥ For the first time in a WHILE, I’m starting to debate cross-posting and maybe eventually making The Big Leap… I just can’t yet, not 100%.

October 27, 2013

I know what you mean – I’ve been here so long, and have really relied on the community to get me through some tough times. And I just love the glimpses into peoples’ lives, just every day stuff – joys, sorrows, new perspectives…and every diary has its own look. I’ve been thinking of joining prosebox just as a way to keep in touch…hopefully OD will get better again and I won’t need itanymore.

October 29, 2013

Circle profile pictures only make sense on a circular screen.

October 31, 2013