Entry 2 – My thoughts of the day

Hey guys!

Thank you all for the comments you left, it was really nice to feel so welcomed to the community.

Today, I would just like to share some thoughts I had today whilst I was working.

A little background, I work in a card shop. Nothing exciting, but the colleagues are the best people to work with. When I’m serving customers on the tills, I have targets to reach. Try and get a customer to buy add ons, like sellotape, or tissue paper, or badges, or banners.

When a customer is buying a Christmas card, or a dozen, my colleagues and I must ask every customer if they would like to buy a pack of three pens, one gold and two silver, for £1. But the issue is, they never sell. Looking at them today whilst stocking up the till banks with them, my thought was ‘why would someone actually buy these? They aren’t anything special, just biro pens with a fancy sparkling colour.’

When a customer buys a balloon, we ask them about weights and string, which colour they would like of each. Today, I had a customer buy SEVEN balloons. Two big numbers, 3 big happy birthday balloons, and two small decorative balloons. Their order, however, was so complicated. They wanted the two big numbers on separate weights, two gold ones. Then they wanted the 3 big happy birthday balloons on the same weight, a silver one. And finally, they wanted the two small decorative balloons on the same weight, a blue one. But that’s not how it got complicated. The two big numbers HAD to have silver and blue string (not a good colour coordination), the 3 big happy birthday balloons had to be tied up with white, pink and red string (again, NOT a good colour coordination), and the two small decorative balloons had to be tied up with rose gold and black string. So my thought on this were ‘why does this have to be so complicated? Just have the same string for each cluster of balloons.’

Towards the end of my shift, the store got quiet, so my colleague went downstairs to finish her job of the day before I had to leave and she was stuck on tills. But 5 minutes before my shift ended, I kid you not 10 customers came to the till at once. Three had balloons wanting to be blown up. I belled for my colleague to come back up and started on the balloons for the three customers already waiting. I did this and I finished at 10 minutes past three, and my final thought of the day was ‘why does this always happen? why is it quiet one second and then there’s 15 people rushing towards the till like there’s a serial killer loose.’

So, now I’m sat at home, rewatching The Vampire Diaries for the 20th time, updating you all on my boring day at work with the thoughts I had during it. Feel free to tell me about your day in the comments.

You may also ask questions about anything you like or ask for advice!

Til next time

Xoxo Miss No Name

Log in to write a note
November 22, 2023

I’ve noticed the same phenomenon, on the customer side: why did all these people suddenly show up when I’m about to check out? Another mystery of the world…