05/13/2013

 

Howdy, howdy, howdy.

The school year is really winding down now. There are only about 4 weeks left- eep! Abigail is going to continue on to 3rd grade. I’m not sure if Austin will have the same classroom or teacher yet.

Austin has summer school three half-days a week. We’re trying to get staff for him on Mondays and Fridays to fill the gap, but the company we’re going through is really dropping the ball. Our usual girl is gone, and they failed to find an adequate replacement before she left. Then they stuck us with a girl they just hired. Unfortunately this girl has never worked with kids and doesn’t know a damn thing about Autism. How the heck is she supposed to provide ABA-style therapy to Austin?! Well, she’s not. I told the supervisor it wasn’t going to work with the new girl. I need somebody who has some sort of clue… someone who I can feel comfortable with having Austin in their care. The previous girl also provided his respite, and ideally we would like someone with that level of knowledge to continue that service for us. So now we wait some more.

Eric’s parents have been taking Abigail once a week after school for a few hours. They do three weeks of Abigail, and then this week they’ll take Austin. That should be an adventure lol. We told them about a park in a neighboring town that has a fence, so I think they’re going to take him there.

Austin lost his 2nd tooth last night or this morning some time. At first I couldn’t find it and thought he swallowed it, but then I found it in his bedding.

Eric goes back on nights tonight. He’s napping now. 

 

support this site

Log in to write a note
May 13, 2013

I hope you find Austin a good teacher for the summer. I’ve learned so much about ABA this year, and how important they are!

May 13, 2013
May 14, 2013
May 14, 2013
May 15, 2013

I hope you find someone Austin can work with and respond to!

May 18, 2013

I wish you good luck and hope you find a good teacher for Austin.

I hope they find someone good for Austin. That’s such a disappointment with the lap in good services! Ashley