spiritually refilled… financially drained!

Between the use of Lush’s "Mask of Magnaminty" & this Acne Wash from Neutrogena (I sometime alternate as the first is, well, a mask that you can leave on to dry) it seems my complexion is getting much better.  I have this high fluoride toothpaste from the dentist – not supposed to eat or drink for half an hour afterwards (which helps with the diet as in the not eating in the evening type of thing).  This focus on fixing all these physical imperfections.  It’s possible.  It does make me feel better about how I look, honestly.  My coworker told me my face looks thinner.  I haven’t lost a ton of weight, but my face looks thinner… hmm… used my passport to prana for the second time today.  It feels good!

I went to bed at 9:30 & woke up at 6:30 – which does mean I caught up on an hour of sleep.  I have been missing out on sleep for the past month – waking up in the middle of the night, waking up early, not getting to sleep at night.  I was working on my reflective paper this morning.  Then I had a shower, got dressed & went to Ikea (just looked around, but got two new fitted sheets as the one I’d been using had a big hole in it).  Ran to Banana Republic (just had about 15 minutes, but I found a top I can wear to clinical, a tank top I like & a pair of cute stripey pants that I can also wear to clinical).  After that I ran to yoga.  It was so good!  I’m going to try to use my passport at least 8 more times (for a total of 10, making it average $3/session).  Some places are out of the city or out of the way.  There are 16 places in total but I don’t think I’ll go to every last one.  I have until December 9 to use it but I should have it used up long before then.

So on the drive back from yoga, I got a speeding ticket.  The cop was a jerk.  He told me I didn’t signal when I cut someone off & that I sped up to pass him.  I don’t cut people off!  Apparently, the speed was 50 & I was going 73.  But it’s not posted & he was saying it’s a residential zone – but it’s commercial (shops on one side, you’re not driving through houses – don’t even see houses).  He was yelling at me when I got my stuff.  He asked if it’s my car (in an accusatory way).  I took the registration out & I was going to take the insurance out but he said to leave it in.  Then he was accusing me of not having current insurance & interrogating me.  I asked him if he could give it back & I pulled it out (the new insurance slip was in the back as I’d put it behind the older one earlier).  The guy was just looking for a bunch of stuff that’s not there.  So then, the ticket said 74 & the machine had said 73.  I pointed that out, so he ripped it up & wrote it again (the new one was $140 rather than $147 – not sure if it’s because of all his rudeness or if literally 74 was a cut off for a higher price.  I probably will just pay the ticket.  But it sucks.  & where does the money go?  Government of Alberta… just seems like a cash cow, especially with all the cutbacks & mismanagement of money.  If someone was legitimately driving recklessly or speeding in a legitimate circumstance it would be another story.  No reason for the cop to be rude either.  I’m not really upset by this BUT tickets can totally be a huge stress for people, who don’t have money to spare.  Can they not have student pricing?  (Still zen from yoga or something).  Just writing out all the details.  I know that going to court is an option, but I’m not sure I’d look into that, honestly.  It’s just really bizarre how the sweetest person, safest driver (me) gets a ticket that is totally not valid (if you get down to it, yes, I do drive over the speed limit at times & I just don’t know the speed on every street, especially when it’s not posted.  Those aren’t major circumstances though).  So yeah, I realize that apparently I was going almost 25km over the speed limit (just didn’t realize what the limit was) & I will probably try to drive closer to the speed limit for the next while.  Seems it’s time the cops are out in force to give out tickets!

So… I have definitely had my down time.  Worked out, shopped (also got my work done in the morning).  So I’m refreshed.  Now I’m watching 17 Again (on PVR).  So tomorrow – laundry, cleaning, walk, more work (on essay, or readings).

I know I’ve been shopping too much.  It might be like an addiction – buying something can be like the reward you’d otherwise get from a hug (I didn’t make that up).  But no, I’m really not going on any crazy shopping sprees, I only bought sheets that I needed & new clothes for work that were all 50% off… still, I should probably wait a month before making any purchases that are not grocery related!  (Since I’m a poor student).  Having nice things to wear matters though.

Oh, here’s a link… what do you all think?  I just thought it’s a nice message.

Today I am grateful for:
1.  The new sheets from Ikea!
2.  The new clothes from Banana Republic
3.  An amazing yoga practice!

Log in to write a note