But wait there’s more…

So today I woke up totally expecting to take Dee to school and then head to the auto shop to get the impala inspected and then to DMV to get the registration completed and get tags. If all that was done by 12:00 pm that would be great because my co worker was covering the first part of my shift so I could take Dee to a job interview at a hog processing plant 45 minutes away from where we live. This company was sure to hire him, they hire felons and illegal immigrants all the time. They offer great pay for really hard work and benefits right away. Everyone I know that has worked there went to the interview and had a drug test administered the same day and was hired. This was a great opportunity. With Dee working and making around $500 a week we would be able to stay in our current home and then move once my disability was approved and I received the back pay for the time I applied till I was approved. My sister had already reiterated she was planning on moving in May. I knew that by then I would need to have a way to cover her portion of my current bills since moving was not really an option with lack of funds to cover 1st months rent and deposit as well as deposit for utilities due to my poor credit score. Not to mention a moving truck, and trying to stay in my daughters current school district.  I woke up with a since of hope that if this one thing could work out for us we would all be okay. Well after dropping Dee off at school at 8:00 am I returned home to see that both the tires on the the right side of the impala were completely flat. This car was my Mom’s car its a 2007 Chevy impala with 20 inch low profile tires on chrome rims a spoiler kit and chrome accents, and dark tinted windows. I used to always joke with my Mom about her drug dealer car, but she really loved it. We just were able to get it out to the shop after she had it in there since March of last year, she had been  paying on the new transmission it needed before she passed away. I did not have the money to get it out of the shop until I got my tax return back this year. Unfortunately her tires are super expensive and run almost 200 per tire…. OMG I could get a set of 4 used tires on the jeep for $180… I was super upset about not being able to even drive it today. The boyfriend said he would get the tires pumped back up and see if they were flat just because the car had sat so long with out being driven. I went to the local used tire shop close by our home and purchased 2 used tires for the jeep because I knew I would suffer a blow out if I tried to get on the highway with the tires I currently had on there. I made it back to pick up Dee and drove to the interview arriving with record time to spare. I coached Dee all the way going down the road for the interview and thought he was totally prepared when we arrived. He got out the car looking sharp. Black button up dress shirt, black tie, and black dress slacks and black dress shoes. Others came in behind him in t-shirts and jeans and sweatpants and stuff, so I was proud that he had worn a more professional attire. Shortly before 2 pm he comes out and and say they told him they would call  him to schedule his drug test. This immediately concerned me and the boyfriend since we both knew they hired and tested on the spot after an interview for most people we knew who were working out there. We tried to keep it positive for Dee on the way home but he knew this was not a good sign. He felt defeated and I could see the worry come over him like a dark cloud in the sky. I know he really wanted to help me with the bills, and to get a car of his own soon. I tried to tell him that he has no idea what God has planned and that they may still call him. I dropped him and the boyfriend off at the house grabbed my mail and headed to work. I opened my mail to see the Social Security Office has sent me a letter telling me I have been removed from Medicare due to not paying my monthly premiums.  I called the SSA call center back in January to find out what I should do about the premiums I could not afford to pay. I have been  part time due to my Kidney failure since late September. I explained to the rep that I was not even making enough to pay my current bills let alone a monthly premium for medicare. She told me my disability claim was still pending and that there was nothing more they needed from me to process my claim but that once it was approved the medicare premium would come out of the disability benefits. I believed her and now I am cut off from Medicare. I call today and the woman I spoke to this time tells me I am responsible for the premiums and that if I can not afford them I have to go to my Department of Social Services and apply for a QMB assistance. ( Qualified Medicare Beneficiary) I have had Medicaid and Food Stamps since I got sick no one has mentioned to me anything about assistance to cover my medicare premiums. The rep also stated my case was still pending and that I needed to go back to my Local SSA office and see why they have not processed my claim yet. She stated she saw in her system where they were waiting on additional information from me, but I told her the last lady said there was no additional information needed from me, at my statement the rep got a irritated with me and began to be very short with me as she told me to call DSS and my local SSA and provided their phone numbers. I was upset and just wanted to leave work and go take care of all of this now, of course I could not do that. It will have to wait until tomorrow morning. I hope they will allow me to continue to go to dialysis until I can get this straitened out. I know if I am no longer allowed to go to my current facility I can go to the Local Hospital and wait for hours in the ER to get treatment but then I risk catching something while waiting and with my health condition its not a great hope of surviving even the regular flu. And to top it all, I left my cigarettes at home when I went in briefly before leaving to go to work. I still smoke due to stress and when I do not have cigarettes everything seems magnified and multiplied and my emotional state is just a wreck.  The boyfriend finally gets a ride to bring me my smokes and while he is here he ask do I want anything from buffet restaurant across the street from my job. My nerves are so shot by the days events that I tell him I really do not have much of an appetite but get me a slice of chocolate creme pie. He calls me after getting over there to tell me they do not have any. Of courses they don’t that would have messed up my already stellar day of disappointment.

Log in to write a note
March 9, 2020

Yep it just keeps going. Arrive home after work no power in the outlets in my room. Tried to reset the circuit breaker didn’t fix it. As soon as I pick my daughter up from work and take Dee to the grocery store to get lunches for the coming week I’m coming back home and going straight to bed.  Got alot to do tomorrow before dialysis. Positive note I did get Insurance added to the impala today and the boyfriend got air in all the tires and its riding good.

March 10, 2020

@monikabrock even the small steps are important 🙂

March 10, 2020

@thediarymaster yes indeed. 😊

March 9, 2020

Wow, talk about a shit fucking day.  I’m sorry, man.  That’s a rough one.  I hope the next one was better.

March 10, 2020

@jadedgrrl Thank you, I have stopped hoping for better days just hoping to make it through whatever may come.