Face Mask

 

So Kay had a doctor’s appointment today due to frequent migraines. Last night our local news reported 2 patients at our main hospital with Covid-19 I am a renal dialysis patient so when we went to the doctor’s office I opted to wear a face mask and I made Kay wear one too. People moved away from us because we were the only ones in mask. It was funny at first because we are wearing mask because people are infectious with out symptoms neither of us have it as far as we know. After her appointment I came to the Department of Social Services. Again I put on my mask because there are alot of people and it is next to our health department as well. People looked at me funny didn’t want to make eye contact and they didn’t sit near me. The space I am fine with but it felt awkward people avoided eye contact. I’m the kind of person who always smiles and speaks to people. So it just feels weird. I watch a video that brought up the fact that 90% of the medications end stage renal disease patients need come from China and that supply chains are already being affected by the virus. I was like dang double whammy. Honestly I really hope no one I know gets this virus. Praying for others like me who are really at risk due to underlying health problems.


 


Log in to write a note
March 12, 2020

Don’t feel weird about people looking at you – I’m glad you both wore masks, that is very important in your situation! I don’t understand why in other countries wearing a mask is seen as being courteous to others, but here it is seen as weird (that thinking may change in the next few weeks :)!

March 13, 2020

@thediarymaster very true. I hope people will take this seriously before it is to late.