Prayer For My Daughters

 

So you’ve found out that life really isn’t that fair
There’s a lot of heartaches waiting to tear you out there
Now you’re left hiding from the sun
Because you can’t find any other place to run
When your song doesn’t sound very strong
And the storm blows hard and howls so long
When you think that you don’t deserve to be here
Stand against the wind and swallow your fear
 
Remember baby, I still love you
Your heart is strong enough to see you through
Sometimes all that you can do
Is to plant your feet and stand strong
Oh yes, my love, keep standing strong
 
Sometimes your steps will be heavy and small
Sometimes your legs will cry for you to fall
When it’s so hard to make your way
When you feel like you are fading away
Reach deeply beyond what you think you know
Let Providence guide your soul
Keep moving forward through the night
Until you find your peace in the morning light
 
Remember baby, I still love you
Your heart is strong enough to see you through
Sometimes all that you can do
Is to plant your feet and stand strong
Oh yes, my love, keep standing strong
 
Your proud, proud daddy knows that the harder life gets…the more that you, my love, will stay strong…

Log in to write a note
June 28, 2010

I love reading a father’s love. Thank you for posting.