Well, it’s only been 20 years but everything comes back around eventually

I am so delighted that this website still exists. I had a diary on here around 2000 and believe it or not, it’s how I met the person that I’d spend the following 15+ years of my life with!  We were so young then.  We’re not together anymore and we don’t talk, but I have no regrets from that fateful day where I was up late at my parents house reading stranger’s posts on OpenDiary.  There used to be a “random” button and I was bored, so I decided that I’d leave comments on five or so random people’s posts and I had no idea that I had just changed the course of my life.

Well, why not start up again 20 years later?  Now I’m in my early 40s.  Since then, I’ve lived in Chicago, IL; NYC, NY; Providence, RI; Cambridge, MA and countless apartments. I’m currently living in the first place that I’ve ever actually owned. About 5 years ago I came back to Chicago and am now out in the burbs near most of my family. Things have really come full circle.

There’s a thunderstorm happening right now and I’m sitting in my living room with the patio door open. One of my cats, Cosmo, just came in because I guess he was finally starting to feel the rain.  His brother Ollie is in the basement. I’ve been having to keep them separated because they’re both boys about 1 year old and they haven’t been neutered yet, so they’re pretty territorial and have been a bit too aggressive with one another. Their appointments are this week, thank goodness. I hope that it does a lot to help them get along because I really don’t want to have to re-home either of them. They’re both my babies and I love them.

Well, I have no real agenda with this diary. I just like the idea of starting a more regular practice of journaling again and reading about other people’s lives.  And who knows, maybe I’ll strike gold twice on here lol.

Today was an exceptionally chill day with no plans.  I watched a 1985 documentary, Tokyo-ga, by Wim Wenders about his exploration of Tokyo and his love and respect for the director Yasujiro Ozu.  I had watched Ozu’s Tokyo Story just a few weeks ago and watched Wender’s Pina a long time ago. Both were great.  I also started watching Wender’s Paris, Texas starring Harry Dean Stanton, liking it a lot but I started to feel antsy so turned off the tv for now.

Log in to write a note
May 6, 2023

bonito escrito.

May 7, 2023

Welcome back to OD

May 7, 2023

@heffay Thank you!

May 7, 2023

I was here at the same time and also remember the random button. How good was that? Get a random dairy when you’d read all of your faves. I can’t remember what my diary name was though. I too am in my 40s…late 40s actually. This place doesn’t have the same feel anymore but am hoping I can find it as cathartic as I did back then.

May 7, 2023

@melancholybaby7 I don’t remember my former name either but I remember looking for it after the database hacking and it seemed to be completely gone.  That’s probably for the best because I feel like our generation is lucky that all of the weird stuff we did in our teens and early twenties got to disappear rather than live forever on the internet.  I still occasionally re-read some actual physical old journals I had from the time and I was such a mess lol

May 7, 2023

@morelife81 haha yes I agree! Imagine if there was digital footage of us being forced to do folk dancing with our 80s hair styles 😂