Sunday Fun Day

6:40am

Welp, another Sunday where I have absolutely nothing that I HAVE to do and that’s truly my dream life.  If I have a moment of inspiration, MAYBE I’ll crack open my work laptop to complete a significant portion of a department skills gap assessment I’ve been working on for a couple weeks.  I sound so old now! Me 20 years ago would never have guessed that I would’ve become a software engineering manager. What even. I’m one of the few women in the industry who sort of just fell into it.  I don’t even love coding. I studied journalism and took a few classes in order to put a magazine’s articles on a website and it just kind of kept snowballing until I kept accepting more technical jobs.

So anyways, there’s the good ol’ Google Sheets skills gap assessment waiting for me if I want to ruin my joy.  Before I go down that path, I’m having the most important debate of the day which is whether I should get dressed enough to go to Starbucks drive-thru to get some mediocre iced coffee with oat milk and vanilla OR make some mediocre hot coffee here.  These are the real questions.

I’ll ease into the day by drinking some homemade iced coffee and picking up on watching Paris, Texas again. The patio door is open next to me and the cat boys are staring at the birds.

Five days until my breast reduction surgery! Can not wait.

Log in to write a note