Lookin Back

I’ve been thinking back alot lately, to how my life used to be compared to how it is now.  I know I shouldnt live in the past and Im not, but this life Im living now is so much more different than I ever imagined for myself.  There are somethings that I wish were a part of my current life, not anything specifically from my past but just somethings.  In no way am I saying Im unhappy with how life turned out, just amazes me at how different I thought it would be.  For instance, I married someone almost exactly to the T that I swore I never would.  Just goes to prove that life doesnt always go the way you want it to, sometimes it goes in a much better direction.  Unanswered prayers, isnt that the truth. 

I thought for sure Id meet a sweet southern man who’d sweep me off my feet in that old fashioned southern way, we’d have a house way up on a hill somewhere, out in the middle of nowhere, spend our nights on the front porch, listening to crickets with the dog curled up at our feet.  Eventually we’d have a few little kids, watch them splashin in the river, playin chase through the bales of hay, with the dog chasin right behind them.  I just always thought I’d end up living a real southern-country lifestyle.  Part of me wishes I had that.  But on the same note I woudlnt trade what I do have for that.  I dunno, lots of strange emotions going through me.  Instead of living that life Im living my life.  I married  a transplanted Yankee, we have our own 5 little acres, not really much of a porch but a few dogs out in the yard and its fairly quiet out here and we’ve just started on the babies.

I miss things, crazy little silly things kids growin up in the country tend to do.  I miss that stuff, but then again Im not a kid any more.  I miss spending weekends out at the river, playin with cousins in the hay, my truck in some good mud. 

Theres really no way to describe the southern life, I hope my children grow up with that same fondness for it the same pride I have.

I guess having Brooke makes me think a lot about these things.  Wondering what her life is going to be like.  Things I want her to experience and hope she enjoys.  I guess that truly is where all of this comes from.  She amazes me, I dont think there has been a single day that has gone by that I havent had tears in my eyes since having her.  Sometimes I just look at her and it brings tears to my eyes.  I pray that that continues.   That just looking at her will always bring a tear to my eye, even when we arent seeing eye to eye, because of the love I have for her.

Speakin of lookin back, I havent been here in a month.  Thats got to change.  I need to get back on track, answering notes, reading faves, and writing.  But I dont know how thats going to happen.  Dad is home now, this was his first week home, my sister and I are staying with him during the day.  Its been quite a bit challenging and we arent quite sure that its going to work.  On the same note, its only been a week.  I dont want to give up this soon.

Thats all for now.

Log in to write a note
November 15, 2008

Hey, just came across this entry from the OD front page. I know what you mean about wandering if your child will enjoy and appreciate the things you do. And I have (missed?) my past life at times too, and you’re so right that life just has other plans to what you imagine for yourself.

November 17, 2008

Glad your dad is home. ~ Welcome back.

November 21, 2008

😀 You are very lucky! Hope to hear from you soon!