Spontaneity – The Spice Of Life

 This week has been much better for us, for our relationship.  Sometimes you stumble along the path, just have to regroup and carry yourself on.  I guess our little yell match helped.  We both got to unload some held in frustrations.

I dont remember what day it was, but one night he had his first real fire call.  He joined the VFD awhile back and they havent had any real calls up until this week.  He was changing the oil in my truck, noticed black smoke and just kept an eye on it.  When he finished my truck, I kissed him bye and he went to check it out.  A little while later I got a call from him saying they did get toned out and he would probably be home in an hour.  3 hours later he calls back and says he is still at the fire and will be home in about an hour.  An hour later, midnight, he showed up.  I stayed up waiting, playing games on our new computer.  Since we didnt have hot water yet AGAIN, I had boiled some water and had a bath waiting for him.  I knew he would need one after being on a fire for 4 hours.  I was excited for him, he has been itching for a call and he finally got it.

Saturday we worked a bit on the house, they came out and set up our sat. tv.  Stephen had a fire meeting at 2 and I told him if we got the house finished and had the money (needed to balance the checkbook) we would go to Lake Charles for some gambling fun.  My parents and sister came over while he was gone with a package for me, it was the disc with our wedding pictures from the photographer, they were anxious to see so we looked at them.  At 5 they were gone and Stephen came home.  He was hungry so sometime around 6 or 7 we headed out to get something to eat.  We ended up in L.C without balancing the checkbook and without finishing the house.  Spent about an hour and a half there and blew $100, we each had our usual $50.  It was nice though.  Nice to get away.  He said he had planned to just take me to a movie….would have been much cheaper.

Sunday they came out and replaced our water heater.  I have pics of that to share.  Then we worked on the house some more.  It was a little warm in the house but I didnt really pay it much attention.  My sister came over and the 3 of us went shopping for a while.  I thought it would be cooler when we got home.  We picked up my mom, brother and his girlfriend and they all came over to eat meatballs that Stephen had cooked.  John and Jaclyn put together our new computer chair and tv stand.  It looks nice……if only we had a couch our living room would be complete.

It was really hot in the house and my sister, on a whim, went out to look at the AC unit……..it was frozen.  So we turned it off.  Around 11ish I took everyone home……..came back and messed with the air some more.  When I finally shut it off for good to go to bed Stephen and I heard a noise, we went to check it out and the inside part of the unit was completely frozen too.  (Have pics of that as well)  They have a stupid piece of cardboard taped to the front of it…it had come partly off…….dunno if thats why everything froze up or what, but Im going to complain until that gets properly fixed as well.  I got up around 6 to check to see if it had defrosted, it had so I turned it on.  It took another hour and a half for the house to cool down enough to sleep comfortably.

Monday we slept in til noon.  Got up and got busy on the house.  We finished the living room and the kitchen.  The dining room is left to be done and then all thats left is the back portion of the house.  We made LOTS of progress, in my opinion.  We still have alot of things to get from mom and dads but I think I want to wait for that.  I have the hallway stacked up with things to sell, mostly left over wedding stuff.

I’m happy, I have the motivation to make our house a home and I’m more in love than ever.

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
September 4, 2007

Well that’s really happy to hear. I’m glad you had such a nice weekend. If only we had looong weekends all the time because they really help. Good luck with the water heater. The people who are “fixing” it aren’t doing a good job at all. I would be mad too. Have a good week!

September 4, 2007

Sounds like a wonderful weekend. You are right about the path sometimes there are little bumps and sometimes big bumps. We approach them as a team and we never ever forget to watch the others back.