I am so glad I didn’t wear shorts.

Let’s talk about how dumb I am. Yaaay! Our favorite topic!

Apparently, being closer to the sun means you burn more easily. Who would have thought?? Genius.

See, in Wisconsin, I can spend almost an entire day outside and not even tan. When we went to the zoo a couple of weeks ago (a few hours of alternating sun and shade), I came home, lounged around during the girls’ nap, and this BURN appeared on my shoulders two hours later.

First, I would like to know what’s with the delay in sunburns. Since when does a burn take TWO HOURS to appear?

Second, ow.

Third, duh.

Moving on.

Today we went to a park and walked around a lake. It’s a newish park, so all the trees are little babies, and there is no shade. None. We live in a desert. Of course there aren’t any trees just springing up for the fun of it in the middle of the valley. I’m not Jonah, for crying out loud.

For some reason, I just assumed that this time, it would be different. Like, the laws of physics and biology in Utah would have changed (OF COURSE!) for my white Wisconsin-raised self.

I came home after this two-hour walk outside. Next to a lake. In blazing sun. With no trees. Did I mention no trees? I did not see a sunburn when I arrive home twenty minutes later. I didn’t even see one an hour later after the girls went to bed.

Two hours later, a brilliant cherry red blossomed all over my shoulders, arms, and face. I look like I just got done with a REALLY intense workout. Or maybe I chewed up an habaƱero pepper, and then took it out of my mouth and rubbed it all over my body. Or maybe I took a nap in the oven.

So you can all laugh. And I will stock up on lightweight cotton long-sleeved shirts. And scarves. And long gaucho pants.


Incidentally, did you ever wonder how Prince Feisal and all the other black-clothing-wearing people didn’t melt in the fiery desert of Arabia?

follow MrsJWine at http://twitter.com
I wrote some things. Please to check them out.
Baby! (Favorites only now)
People I Talk About
If you ever want to email me, send it to [my name on OD] at opendiary dot com.

Log in to write a note
May 12, 2011

I read the black clothes actually kept them cooler.

May 13, 2011

I am really fair skinned, so I tend to burn regardless of sunscreen. But, most of the time, my sunburn doesn’t show up immediately. Usually, it’s after a shower but there is always a little pain or extra warmth. šŸ™‚ So you aren’t the only one.

May 13, 2011

I dont recommend taking hot showers with sunburns. It stings and you peel faster, this comes from my personal experience. Look up the uses for vinegar, i think there is something there for sunburns. Also, stock up on your sunscreen.

May 13, 2011

I was amazed when we went to Yellowstone last summer how quickly and easily we burned…and I usually tan very well.

May 13, 2011

From one burner to another: http://www.coolibar.com and http://www.amazon.com/Neutrogena-Ultra-Sheer-Sunblock-oz-2e/dp/B00157FK6Q (that was the BEST sunblock in Disney)

May 13, 2011

Eek, so sorry! That sucks! Time for some aloe, stat!

May 13, 2011

My AA friend and I were painting a garage/barn once. He insisted on wearing long sleeves even though it was boiling out. He said the sun is pretty attracted to his dark skin and he gets over heated quickly. Duh. But yea, black clothes? I’d go for light colors. It takes a few hrs for a burn to show up on me as well. I figure it’s a cook time. Or like meat “let sit for 10mins” while it continues

May 14, 2011

OK first – OW. Sunburn HURTS. Much moisturiser is required and don’t irritate it or carry shoulder bags for a bit. I will attempt to explain sunburn – I hope it makes sense as I am a bit frazzled right now. When you are exposed to the sun, all of its UV rays (UVA and UVB) come down upon your skin and provide you with Vitamin D and warmth and general happiness… which is all well and good, butthe UVB rays, when exposed to them in excess, actually start to damage the DNA in your cells. The body recognises this, and starts repairing the DNA, and producing extra melanin. Melanin is a pigment in skin which produces its colour. Black people have the most melanin, albinos the least (none, I think?) The melanin counters the attack of the UVB rays, and when successful, it turns your skin a lovely shade of brown. However, if you are naturally pale skinned, then your body naturally has less melanin, and can produce less. Therefore you cannot take as much sun for prolonged periods as darker skinned people (that isn’t to say they cannot get sunburn). The melanin your body produces just isn’t enough, and you end up with a sunburn. Your skin is completely regenerated every 2-3wks though

May 14, 2011

And I believe it was on QI or somewhere that they proved it to be a fallacy about light colours “attracting” or “holding” heat less than dark colours. Bedouins wear dark colours – what does that tell you? People who walk through the desert all their lives prefer to wear dark colours. Does this mean dark is actually better, or that it is irrelevant what colour you wear, scientifically speaking? Notsure.

May 14, 2011

RYN I was taught that too. But through my formal education, I was also taught that Pluto was a planet, the structure of a molecule is like a polo mint with the nucleus in the middle, Columbus discovered the earth was round, Newton discovered gravity because of an apple falling on his head… and you were educated in America so you were probably taught that America won WWII like it says in all thefilms… I have long lost my faith in formal education being truthful and accurate and correct! šŸ™‚

May 14, 2011

Sorry for the notewhoring here but I’m still thinking about the light/dark/heat thing, and I remember in school they used the example of tarmac to illustrate it. But pale paving stones also get hot in summer. If they don’t get as hot, as quickly, then it probably has something to do with the fact that they’re made of stone, not tar and sand! Sorry, I’m going now, I know this has become way too nerdy.

May 14, 2011

RYN: Yes, let’s visit and drink large quantities of coffee and let our children just do their thing. They’re all old enough to only get into kind and gentle naughty trouble when left semi-unattended šŸ˜‰ Also, does that mean if I only roll my eyes at her you’ll come visit? I have very small quarters to accomadate our needs.

May 14, 2011

you are hysterical. and sorry about your burn šŸ™

May 15, 2011

RYN: I figured there would be some adjusting that needed to be done – thanks for sharing what you’ve done. I read somewhere about using dry baking soda first…don’t know what the purpose is compared to dissolving it.

May 17, 2011

i never notice i’ve burned while im still in the sun.. its usually the next day or when im changing into pj’s.. i personally love burning! (only a few timesthough,, because i’d expect to start tanning once my first layer is burnt enough LOL)

May 18, 2011

So are you in Southern Utah? It’s still been snowing, windy and rainy up here in Northern Utah.

May 18, 2011

*ryn* Ah you are not far from me. I am in Sugarhouse/South Salt Lake area. How are you liking the weather today? Utah makes me laugh. The weather is so bi-polar.

Wearing clothes actually makes you cooler. I’m not big on wearing black in hot weather but any long-sleeves or scarves etc, sure is cooler than just walking around in the sun with bare arms and no hat.