Words

I love to write and always have for as long as I can remember. I wrote a story in a book when I was about 10 or 11 and I remember my mum telling me she thought it was brilliant. I loved English at school and writing composition assignments. I managed an O level grade B in it which enabled me to become a multi millionaire. Ok maybe not but I have had a lifelong passion for books and paper.

My pocket money was spent after several hours perusing the books in Smiths at Harrogate. I can conjure up that feeling still just by thinking about it. The smell of paper and printing ink and the perfectly aligned pages of an unread book. All those stories inside and all those worlds to escape to as scrumptious as thick toasted white bread with dripping lurpak.

I loved the library too. I remember the kid’s downstairs part where I was obsessed with big fat tomes like the Dr Syn books by Russell Thorndike. I don’t know if I ever finished one but I loved the feel of them in my hands. Someone had put a lot of words inside those books and I liked to hold them and imagine what was inside.

I read on a kindle these days because I need good light but I buy books on art and journals to write in and mixed media pads to do my art in and to do lists jotters and handmade Khadi paper from India to make my own journals.

Even writing about it makes my mouth water: words and paper are one of my passions.

Log in to write a note
December 23, 2023

I love the written word too. I enjoy old musty tomes, and bright foiled new books. I too read in iBooks. I’m reading a book called Alias Grace. I love the author, she is quite famous in Canada 🇨🇦… that’s where I live. I had to google lurpak tho. Heh.

December 28, 2023

@thisisanarchy That made me smile that you Googled Lurpak 😊 I received a book from Amazon today about writing short stories. I’m determined! I shall look Alias Grace up too.

December 28, 2023

Margaret Atwood I love her!!!

December 29, 2023

@mrsmerlot also check out Cat’s Eye by Ms. Atwood. You are welcome 🤗

January 25, 2024

I’m right there with you. I’ve always had a deep fascination with  books and words in particular. English was also my favorite subject. I always loved creative writing, especially poetry. I’ve been writing poetry since about the 8th grade. I’ve also kept this journal for over 20 years now. It’s hard to believe it’s been that long. Every once in awhile, I will go back and read my earliest entries, just to marvel at how different life was back then and how differently I viewed the world.
I think what I’m most fascinated by is the concept of time.

January 27, 2024

@ashestoashes 📝📝📝📝keep it up 👌