Journal entry 2 – after the protest after thoughts

Maybe i need to write..

Maybe i NEED to WRITE!

as true as Lebron’s fade-away jumper to seal the win,

as real as Tracy’s Heaven Here on Earth,

instinctual as my cat – chasing lizards through the garden..

garden bugs. Lady bugs. beatles,

i got the FEELS..

shrooms brewing in my stomach,

feeding me the earth..

the Earth,

my home,

our home..

Bring me home – back in my soul,

“the world is our temple. the world is our church,”

the world has gone mental, the world is in search,

my mental search can take a break..

my blood and spirit are tryna’ reach me,

teach me,

for God sake! my sake!

teach me, reach me..

 

I hadn’t written in a long time. After a night of emotional, social, hit-the-streets protesting I came home worn out but still jittery and energetic from the frenetic energy of everyone giving voice to their feelings, pounding the pavement, sweating, tearing up, crying out, expressing our first amendment. (Keep our freedom. Please defend it) I came home and started watching the Lakers – Nuggets game on mute while listening to music on my phone. Tracy Chapman’s Heavens Here On Earth came on and i had to shut off the television. I broke down on my floor, crying, because the past few weeks i’d felt so isolated and useless, but tonight i made some great connections with some great people, with some great leaders of our community. And now i’m writing. It’s what my soul needed. But it doesn’t end there. It doesn’t end here. I might in all reality be killed (murdered) one day fighting for indigenous and environmental rights in South America if i follow through with my Anthropology degree and my ambitions. I must fight to actively stay engaged. I’d rather die fighting than live sitting idly on the sidelines. I forget some days who i am and what i’m about.. or at least i don’t express it enough. But i know my soul, my blood, my ancestors and this earth are trying to speak to me. I need to write more. I need to fucking write more.

chinga la migra. show shade. don’t throw shade.

9/26 – St. Pete Saturday night protest – after thoughts

 

Log in to write a note
September 27, 2020

Good! Take your power back any way you can!