Friday Pragmatism | Brevity, practicality

I’m not so inspired to write at present.
One thing I’ve noticed is that overall when I’m well, I don’t write so much in vroenis and nav gets the lion’s share of attention. When the Strangeness is in full force I tend to write brief abstract works here with the bulk of activity happening in vroenis. This is one of the reasons why the Strangeness is so compelling, so appealing.

In brief, I am finally committing to cleaning my spaces. The spines of my CDs are slowly being bleached by years of exposure to UV from the open window so it’s time to box and store them. It’s a very interesting experience. Some of these CDs still get listened to as often I will prefer to listen to the highest fidelity format available, however since they’re taking so much sun-damage I’ve decided that steps need to be taken to preserve them. It’s a strange and wonderful experience indeed to pack away the CDs and having brief spikes of memories as to the time of purchase and for some, eras of more heavy listening.

I have done the top half of my bookshelf which contains my DVDs, however a third of my collection is sitting on the floor. The actual books may also need to move so another shelf may be required.

The Lego sadly has to go. I want to display my Gundams and it seems the expansion of my Lego collection has stopped dead. It’s a shame really as it’s not for lack of interest, I continue to love Lego for all it’s amazing ingenuity, charm and in the past with Technic, brilliant working mechanics, but alas I feel that the sets available over the last couple of years have not inspired me enough to purchase. I still want to display everything I have but for now it’s got to go to make room.

As the trip to Europe draws near, I have committed to not purchasing any more films as I have more than enough to keep me occupied. Music has been kept to a strict budget and expenditures are rationed month by month. I had planned on buying some hardware for my drums, a new camera, a new PC and/or laptop and a PS3 but all of these have been postponed until the trip is over and done with. Gundpla is the only indulgence and even that has been planned to spread the cost across the period from now until June. It’s the easiest exception though because I always build with others as a wonderful social activity, and the cost vs enjoyment ratio is particularly favourable.
It’s been a long time since I’ve had to live so frugally, but it’s for a very good reason indeed.

Log in to write a note