אני קושית יפה/I’m a Cute Black Girl Pg 82

Last night was 1st night Pesach. I spent it in Shul and at the Shul dinner with my Husband and some fellow grads who have become family. Often throughout the night I kept wishing how I was with my family (Abba, Sisters and Close Relatives) and experiencing one of the traditionally lengthy Pesach Seders that I used to have with them when I was younger.

The Progressive Pesach Seder is slightly different to the Orthodox Seder I remember experiencing. Maybe it is just I was much younger…well a kid and so there was more hype for the night and finding the Afikomen and Acting out the Plagues and listening to my sisters and all the other youngsters see who could belt out the loudest when singing Echad Mi Yodea. Now that I can read Hebrew a huge part of me wanted to try and sing the song in Hebrew but last night we sang the English Remix of it. I mean it was fun, but I did miss the whole family and community feeling of the night.

Echad Mi Yodea lyrics and translation אחד מי יודע – YouTube

Who Knows One? An English version of Echad Mi Yodea for Passover! – YouTube

Of course, to make the night feel more like a Chag back when I was growing up, I helped up with dishing soup to everyone having Seder at Shul. And had to hug the Rabbi and thank her when left and thanked the Caterer.

I mean so I don’t attend Shul religiously, I do feel right at home when I am there or amongst any of the congregants. Being Jewish has been my calling and makes me feel complete. I know with the way things stand and are moving along in Israel Politically I may never be able to call Israel my home, although that piece of land is very precious to the Jewish Heart, to me Judaism is so much more than a piece of land…it is family and every time I do a mitzvah or walk into Shul I feel at home and as if I am playing my part in making my community better.

Talking about making my community better; last night each person was given a word. And it is our duty to spend the next year to try and live up to that word.

My Husband got SLAVERY and I got WASTE.

Not sure how we are going to use those words to make our community or country better. But I am thinking maybe we should start off with visiting the South African Slave Museum, Make a Donation to it. And I guess we could clean up our flat and donate the clothes we don’t wear, and we could also do a mass clean-up of our suburb.

Skyline of Old City of Jerusalem. Rosh Hashana , Jewish Holiday Vector  Greeting Card. Traditional Greeting, Next Year in Stock Vector -  Illustration of gold, hebrew: 121325768

Black Pink Cursive

I want to make that idiom true one day! One day I do intend on visiting the Promised Land. Last time I was too young to appreciate it and even though I have fond memories of being there, I know this time being there would have more meaning to me.

Log in to write a note
April 6, 2023

Happy Ostara!! (Wiccan Easter/Pesach)

April 6, 2023

Never heard of that wish before but thank you! 😘