NoJoMo 17: Peaceful But Productive

Today has actually been a really great day. I got up and had coffee with the parents. We took Max to the vet to get his nails trimmed. Then, mom and dad went off to spend a day with each other, and I had the day and the house to myself. I LOVE days that I get the whole day entirely to myself. Its actually a rarity.

Anyway, when mom and dad left on their outing, I gave Max a bath, washed his towels, brushed him up, cleaned my bathroom, Swiffered the floors, made a late lunch/early dinner, and moved some of my bedroom furniture to make room for possible holiday guests. I didn’t have to move much. Hopefully, I left enough room to fit a twin air mattress or something. I tried anyway lol. My cousin, her daughters (my goddaughters), and my brother are all supposed to come visit for Thanksgiving. I am SO excited to have all of us under one roof. It doesn’t happen very often; maybe once every couple of years. I am praying that weather or finances doesn’t prevent Kerri and the girls from coming.

Makiyah, my oldest goddaughter, has already messaged me on Facebook sending a video about how excited she is for Thanksgiving. She loves being with us, especially me. She’s 14 such a mature and intelligent young lady, and a total nut. lol. Every time she comes to see me, she tries to move in and doesn’t want to leave. When I lived in St. Louis, she’d always ask if she could come live with me. Her and I have always had this weird bond. I remember when she was about 2 or 3, I went to spend a week or 2 with them to visit during the summer. The first night I got there, she did NOT want to leave my side. She had an absolute MELTDOWN when it was bedtime because she didn’t want to leave me. She cried and screamed from her bed, “I want my Mokee (my nickname). I want my Mokee.” She kept screaming for me, so I told my parents that I would go up, lay with her until she falls asleep, then come back down to chill with them. They said I didn’t have to, but I wanted to. She almost instantly fell asleep. I have no idea why we have this bond. I’ve always lived 3-4 hours away from them, so I wasn’t physically around very often for her to be attached to me. I love it though.

Her sister, Makayla, doesn’t reach out to me as much, but when we’re all together its such a great time. Makayla is more introverted and very much a mama’s girl and stuck to her like glue. Her mom is her best friend. They both love their mom, which warms my heart! Sissy is just more attached to her and Kiyah is the more independent one. Sissy is hilarious when you get her to talking, especially when she gets to telling stories about her middle school experiences.

Kerri, their mom, has been my best friend since birth. Literally. Our moms are twin sisters (Aunt Linda passed two years ago) and they basically raised us as sisters. Even though, we lived the majority of our lives apart, we were still inseparable. We wrote 4+ page letters back and forth constantly when we were younger. We moved 10 minutes away from them when I was about to start high school, so her and I went to high school together. Man, we were CONSTANTLY with each other or on the phone with each other lol.

Anyway, as you can see, I am EXCITED to see them. And I ALWAYS love with my brother, Josh, comes home!

Another rambling entry. lol. I forgot how much I love writing. Love yall!

Log in to write a note
November 19, 2018

Sounds like you will have such a good Thanksgiving!