NoJoMo… I don’t know…: Thanksgiving

So I’ve lost track of my writing and probably haven’t been here in a week or more because of the holiday.

My brother, Josh, came home last Monday night. He wasn’t supposed to come in until Wednesday, but he sneaked in on us. He is still here! He decided to stay a couple of extra days and work from home. It has been really nice having him home. We don’t do much because there’s nothing to do in a small town, but its nice just having his presence here.

Kerri and my goddaughters came in Wednesday afternoon. They were SO excited to be here, especially the girls. We had a full house for the holiday for once, and it was WONDERFUL. We ate (and I gained at least 3 lbs). We laughed. We ate and laughed some more. On Thanksgiving day, myself, Kerri, and the girls got all dolled up for a photo session. (I’ll post pics in a later post). I did the girls’ makeup. Of course I did a natural look. After we ate and took pictures, we played my brother’s Nintendo Switch for a while. We spent the entire rest of the night playing spades and listening to music from when we were growing up. We taught my oldest goddaughter, Makiyah, how to play spades and caught on rather quickly. At one point, we had her laughing so hard that she was snorting and spit her water on me. LOL.

My youngest, Makayla, is very much introverted, but she graced us with her presence every once in a while by coming out of my room (which they were sleeping in). I took a break from spades because Makiyah wanted to do nails with me. So I got the fake nails, glue, and polish out to do our nails. Naturally, Makayla came out of hiding to join us for that lol. Makiyah made a point to pull me into the room with her mom to tell me about her “first kiss.” I felt so honored that she wanted to tell me! I guess I’m that cool godmom lol. Don’t worry. It was just a peck. PRAISE GOD! I know she’s 14, but she’s still my baby. That whole conversation turned into the girls telling us about the boys they liked and me threatening to go down there and whoop some tail. lol. They laughed. They’re really good girls though, so I don’t think there will be any trouble from them.

Kerri and the girls left Friday afternoon, and the girls kept saying all morning long that they didn’t want to leave. lol. I didn’t want them to leave yet either, but I was glad to get my bed back. Sleeping in a recliner for two nights in a row isn’t exactly comfortable. All in all, it was the best Thanksgiving that I’ve had in quite a while!

Log in to write a note
November 26, 2018

I’m glad to hear you had a happy holiday. The girls sound super sweet!