I thought I was past these nights

My mind is racing. I’m not suicidal,  but I want to give up. I been taught tricks and things to work to beat my depression and BPD, but none of them are working tonight. Today was rough, no one in my family called or texted about Easter. I wound up calling my oldest to see if they received my gifts. I don’t think my kids truly miss me. I think they feel my absence,  but it just doesn’t matter that I am not there anymore.  

Is it wrong that I feel neglected and let down by everyone. I have a problem.  It wasn’t a drug issue, or drinking, or abuse. It was/is a mental health problem.  My ex destroyed me like I deserved it, but I never gave her a reason to. Yet, now after counseling,  that everyone told me I needed, based on my total breakdown,  I have an answer to why and what is wrong with me and these same people could care less. 

I received Easter greetings from strangers, people I have met here, but nothing from my family and friends, you would have thought cared. If I happen to mention my feelings or needs, right away I get the “need to be strong for the kid’s “, but my kids seem so unaffected. Matter of fact, everyone but me are unaffected.  I’ve been wrote out of existence and wiped from history. Why? 

I swear to all of you who read these words, I’m not asshole. I wasn’t an alcoholic or hooked on drugs nor did I ever lift a finger towards her. I gave her total trust, never a jealous moment. I treated her the same the last day as the first. I was a great father and a loving friend and brother. I lost more than just her that afternoon. I lost everyone. 

One year, 3 months, and days ago. The pain is still fresh, the nights still suck, and this “gets better” has yet to happen..

Log in to write a note
April 13, 2020

I too suffer from depression and am bipolar. I understand completely. How old are your children? At any age, gifts should be acknowledged. So sorry you are going through this. Hugs

April 13, 2020

@irishbudgie1954 My sons range from 6 to 15. I realize they have all suffered in their own way, but their world hasn’t really changed, other than me. I more or less lost everything and when I finally started to “even out” so to speak, this Corona shit hit. Now I am totally alone. I am scared as hell to get them. I don’t want them sick and I rather not be the blame if they do get sick. Its hard to explain in these messages.

April 13, 2020

@newt316 I am also alone, but I am used to it.  Being in a large family and then finding yourself alone must be hard. Being depressed doesn’t help matters,  I know.  Anytime you want to chat let me know.  I am here

April 13, 2020
April 13, 2020

Just for the record your family is much like my idiot brother in law and his idiot girl friend….They never phone to see how his brother is doing and never phones to say thank-you for gifts received and the girl friend says she hates the phone and has no idea how to turn on a lap top…..It does hurt me when I try to do nice things and they can’t even say thank-you.  I hope this passes soon because you are a wonderful person and I think you are a cool dude….