We’re in the same song too long, remix

I stole this from [Shane] and I’m not sorry!

Put your music player of choice on shuffle and list the first 10 songs

A. “Life is Waiting”- Faber Drive
B. “Come One, Come All” – All Time Low
C. “The (Shipped) Gold Standard”- Fall Out Boy
D. “Make Your Move”- Relapse Symphony
E. “Teenage Dirtbag” -Wheatus
F. “Red Hands” – Walk Off the Earth
G. “Fallout”- Marianas Trench
H. “All My Best Friends are Metalheads”- Less Than Jake
I. “Lonesome Dreams”- Lord Huron
J. “Bullet for Your Dreams”- Hedley

If you could spend a week anywhere in the world, where would it be and why?: Anywhere? Could I collect everyone I know, love and admire and fly them there with me (even against their will or without their knowledge)?: Australia!

What is your preferred writing implement? (eg. Blue pen, pencil, green pen): Black pen, pretty much always.

Favourite month and why?: I like February, quite honestly.

Do you have connections to any celebrities (even minor)? List them.: Um…not REALLY. I’m related to James Fenimore Cooper (author), but I’m not sure that really falls into ‘celebrity’ status. (Oops…slipping song titles into speech again.) I’ve been completely randomly followed by a TON of bands and band members on Twitter lately. One of them is the drummer for Faber Drive, who I’ve actually tweeted back and forth with a few times, so that’s kinda cool, but very minor.

Name 3 items you could pick up from where you are.: Cell phone, flash drives and mp3 player.

What brand logo is closest to you currently?: Apple and Gatorade are equal distance.

Do you ever play board games or other non-computer games? Got any favourites?: I love card games of all kinds and checkers is fun.

A musical artist you love that isn’t well known: Oh man, don’t do this to me. I feel so hipster-ish these days because so many of the bands I listen to aren’t really bands that people know. Marianas Trench, Faber Drive, Hedley, All Time Low, Alex Goot, Chad Sugg/Backseat Goodbye, Fake Shark Real Zombie, Matt Webb, Jellyfish…etc.

A musical artist you love that is well known: Fall Out Boy is probably the biggest name I have on my iPod.

What is your desktop background currently?: Egotistically, it’s a photo I took.

Last person you talked to, and through what you talked to them: Noah on messenger.

First colour name you can think of that isn’t in the rainbow: Turquoise.

What timekeeping devices are in the room you are currently in?: Phone, computer, mp3 player <– Keeping this answer.

What kind of headphones do you use?: I have no idea. I have two pairs, and both are cheap $10 ones. I hate real, fancy ones. The expensive awesome ones squish my jewelry into my head and it hurts. lol So these cheaper, smaller ‘wrap around the back of the neck’ ones work best for me.

What musical artists have you seen perform live?: I’ve only ever been to ONE concert and that was when I was 12 or 13. Some country musician that a friend of mine liked and her parents had free tickets, so they invited me along. It was kinda cool, but I wasn’t really into it at the time. I’d be more into it NOW, I think.

Does virginity matter to you?: Why? Is there a volcano needing stuffing? <– Totally swiping this answer too.

What gaming consoles do you or your family own?: Computers, my brother and I still have an original Playstation and I have a Gameboy Advance. I was NEVER much of a gamer at all, so that stuff just never mattered to me.

What pets do you have? What are their names?: A dog (a sheltie) named Shelby and a black and white hamster named Draco.

What’s the best job you’ve ever had?: I’ve only ever had two professional jobs, both of which I really enjoyed. I worked as a receptionist for a psychologist and as a tech in a veterinary hospital. Both jobs had really good points.

What’s the worst job you’ve ever had?: Both jobs also had really negative points.
At the psych office, there was my office way up front and the doctor’s office was down a really long hallway several rooms behind me. (It was a long, narrow building.) And if anyone ever came in to murder me, I’d have been a goner before anyone knew it. But this one time, a woman came in that I’d never seen before. Not so unusual. The doctor had his regulars at their regular times, but sometimes they switched appointments. She sat down and started talking to me, spilling all of these absolutely crazy stories/secrets that she swore she’d never told anyone before. Really troubling, unnerving personal family stuff. She flashed me twice while lifting her skirt and explaining something about her family situation. She rambled on for about half an hour until the doctor finally walked the patient he had currently been with out the door. He talked to this woman, told her he couldn’t help her because she didn’t have an appointment (or insurance or money) and suggested two free clinics. Once she left, he just looked at me with wide eyes and asked why I didn’t come to get him. I told him it didn’t seem necessary to bother him for something like that when she didn’t really pose a threat and he was in the middle of working with someone else. I could handle it and keep her calm (at least) until he was able to make his way up front to my office/the waiting room again. He just shook his head, patted me on the shoulder and said, “that’s…amazing…” and walked away.

Honestly, I had to deal with a lot of that kinda stuff at the veterinary clinic as well (people seem to think anyone in a uniform is willing to listen to anything, regardless of the type of medical profession), but at the vet clinic, there were always people around. I could have yelled for help if things got scary, etc… In fact, I *DID* get cornered and pinned by an irate client in a tiny exam room once and all I had to do was open the door. It was fine. But at the psych office, I was completely on my own and that got a little unnerving now and again. I never had a real problem, but it was always a possibility.

What magazines do you read, if any?: I don’t read magazines at all. I used to, but I haven’t for a very long time.

Inspiration behind your URL?: Umm… I’ve got a Twitter and a Tumblr account and I go by “RattleTheSkies” on both these days. It’s just a nod towards a quote. 🙂

Inspiration behind your blog title?: I’m gonna assume this means my OD/Prosebox name “Nocturnal State”. If any of you are friends with me on Facebook (and I think most of you are), then you know I’m up all night and sometimes for days. It’s not that hard to figure out. 🙂

Favourite item of clothing?: I don’t really have favourite items of clothing. I don’t put that much thought into it! I have some great socks I really like!

Are you friends with any exes?: Yep!

Name at least one book you loved as a child.: I loved the “Indian in the Cupboard” books and I would still read through those now if I knew what I did with them. (They’re in my stack of books somewhere.)

What’s your native language? If that language has distinct regional variations, which variation?: American English. Though, growing up in NJ, people assume I have a horrible, thick NY accent. I DON’T. I swear it. People have said I sound more mid-western with a touch of Canadian,which absolutely makes sense to me because I have friends in those areas that I speak to quite often and I’m sure some of their pronunciations have seeped into my vernacular over the years.

What email service do you use?: Hotmail.

Is there anything hanging on the walls of the room you are currently in?: Three photos I’ve taken, one painting that my mother did, two more photos I’ve taken that I glued to wood and shellacked over (I swear, it’s more creative than it sounds).

What’s your favourite number, and why?: I like most any even number and any number that multiples by 5.

Earliest moment in your life you can remember?: I remember being under 6 months old. My bedroom used to be my brother’s room and the crib was up against the far wall by his closet. I was wearing these thin, scratchy footie jammies and I was taking a nap. I got woken up when my father’s friend showed up to visit and brought his infant son Colin along. They dropped Colin into my crib for nap time as well, and that’s the first time I ever slept with a dude. 🙂

What did you have for dinner yesterday?: An apple andddd….leftover chicken, I think.

How often do you brush your teeth?: Once a day, but I use mouthwash constantly, at least three times a day.

What’s your favourite candy/chocolate?: I don’t really love candy, but I like Twizzlers.

Have you had other blogs on Tumblr? Do you have any other blogs currently?: I have three on Tumblr (only ONE of which I ever use. The others are more like URL name holders), four on OD (only one of which I use), one on Prosebox (same name), I had a LiveJournal ages ago, but haven’t written there in about 11 years. I think there’s another one floating around somewhere, but I can’t remember the site and I think I only wrote ONE entry.

If you were suddenly really hungry, what would you choose to eat?: Apple!

What fandoms would you consider yourself a part of?: Hmm…no fandoms, but I’m deep in the throes of some bandoms.

If you could study anything, what would it be?: Medicine.

Do you use anything on your lips?: Constantly. I love chapstick-y things.

How would you describe your sense of humour?: Sarcastic, sometimes quick-witted, sometimes a little too sexual, sometimes a little too cruel, sometimes a little aloof, sometimes a bit innocent. It all depends on the day and the time of month. 🙂

What things annoy you more than anything else?: Really, I’m not that easily annoyed these days. I get fed up when people try to dictate my life to me, especially considering I’m probably old enough to have a mid-life crisis by now. So I guess ‘people’ would be an appropriate answer.

What kind of position are you in at the moment?: Sitting up with an electric blanket because it’s freaking freezing, you guys.

Do you wear much jewelry?: YES. I currently have 8 silver hoops and a rook piercing in my right ear and 7 silver hoops in my left. I’m wearing 8 braided bracelets on my left wrist and a stretchy rubber “Face the Music” bracelet on my right wrist. I have two necklaces on (both displaying bands). I have the green amber ring that Treve gave me on my left ring finger, my high school grad ring on my left middle finger and three stackable bands on my left thumb (“peace”, “love”, “hope”). On my right hand I’m wearing a birthstone ring, a Celtic band on my middle finger and some random design I can’t explain on my pointer. Oh, and two ankle bracelets on my left ankle. Jewelry JUNKIE. I won’t lie. And that’s ALL the time.

Who is the leader of your country, currently? Any other levels of government with leaders? (State, region, province, county, district, municipality, etc): Ugh…politics…bite me.

Last 3 blogs on your dashboard, not including any of your own: I’m too lazy to go check.

What do you carry your money in?: A wallet that has a depiction of “Gone with the Wind” silkscreened onto it.

Do you enjoy driving? Why or why not?: I like mobility, but driving through traffic lost its appeal years ago.

Longest drive you have ever been on?: Just from here to Vermont. It’s about 8 hours, give or take. It’s not a bad drive, just tedious up through the city.

Furthest away from home you have ever been?: Alaska/Canada. 😀 (Hi Jen!!)

How many times have you moved house?: Never.

What is on the floor of the room you’re currently in, not including furniture?: Vacuum cleaner, some paint cans waiting to be taken back down to the basement, my camera bag.

How many devices do you own which can access the internet?: Three, technically.

Is there is anything that is guaranteed to always make you happy?: Lots! Music, friends, serendipity, getting my way, a great sarcastic quip-off with anyone who will play, being unique and being proud of it, etc. Random stuff. 😀

Is there anything that always makes you sad?: Always? Not really, no. If I’m ‘sad’ for any prolonged period of time, it’s because I can’t get out of my own head and I do it to myself.

What programs do you currently have open?: Four Chrome tabs, FreeCell and Word.

What do you associate the colour red with?: Hm…I really don’t. Red isn’t a colour I think of very often and it doesn’t really show up in my life much.

Last strong smell you can remember smelling?: I can smell my perfume, but it isn’t strong.

Last healthy thing you ate?: An apple!

Do you drink tea or coffee, and how much per day?: I drink neither.

What do you associate the colour blue with?: Me! My life! That’s not a bad thing, I just love the colour and most anything I own is in various shades of black/grey and blues. Right down to hair and eyes. 😀

How long is the closest ruler you can find?: A foot.

What colour pants/skirt/etc are you currently wearing?: Light blue jeans.

When was the last time you drank water?: Before I went to bed.

How often do you clear your browser history?: Not very often.

Do you believe nude photos can be artistic, rather than erotic?: Absolutely! One of my favourite games with Noah used to be going on deviantArt and playing “art or sex” with the nude photos. 🙂

Ever written fanfiction for anything?: Ugh…yes… However, these were the reactions I got, so it wasn’t that awful, I guess!:

“that fic made me cry. fuck.”

“i’ts not okay athat was not okay holy shit you’re so fucking talent ed i’m so cfuking in awe you’re amazing and i’m too nemotnal to be coherent but you’re amaazing oh mt ogod.”

“I DIDN’T NEED MY HEART. I. DIDN’T. NEED. IT. AT. ALL. FUCKING HELL YOUR WRITING A;LSDKFJA;SDLF YOU JUST KNOCK IT OUTTA THE PARK ALL OVER BB GAHHH <3 <3 <3 (ps no never be sad about the crying, it’s fucking rad to cry over fic omg) Your dialogue is AWESOME, the frustration is palpable, and wow i just love EVERYTHING about your fics, you’re so fucking talented, just, wow, so many kudos from me i can’t even <3 <3 <3 a pleasure and a delight to read, as always."

“*DEEP BREATH* OKAY. OKAY. MY GOD. OKAY. CAN I JUST. LIKE. CRY AT YOU FOR A LITTLE BIT OVER THE FIC YOU JUST POSTED, BECAUSE DAMN THAT WAS SOME OF THE BEST DIALOGUE I’VE SEEN IN FIC LIKE THAT FOR SOME TIME AND THAT WAS JUST SUCH A GREAT PIECE HOLY FUCK IT WAS SUCH A PLEASURE TO READ THAT MOMENT BETWEEN THEM, AND THE CHARACTERIZATION/DIALOGUE WERE PERF AND JUST WOW YOU’RE AWESOME AHH <3"

Aw. *blush* Me? Yeah, I guess I *am* that good. 😉

Last formal event you attended: Man…umm…my grandmother’s funeral about eight years ago?

If you had to move your birthday to another date, which one would you choose and why?: I like it just where it is, thanks!

Would you prefer to be at a beach or in the countryside?: Country, hands down.

Roughly how many people live in your town?: Way too many.

Do you know anyone with the same birthday as you?: Two. One, I met through Postcrossing (that postcard deal) and one was the girlfriend of Treve’s cousin.

Favourite place to shop? Can be a certain store or a place where there are multiple stores: Amazon.com!

Do you have a smartphone? What kind? If you don’t, do you want one?: I don’t have one because I don’t really need one. If someone offered it to me for free, sure.

What is your least favourite colour, and why?: I really don’t like oranges/yellows/reds for some reason. They’re a bit harsh for me.

How do you spell grey/gray?: I always spell it with an ‘e’ unless I need to spell it the other way.

What time is it currently?: 5:18am.

Is there anything you should be doing right now?: I’d actually love to be soaking in a hot bath and reading. But I think I waited too long for that and I only have time for a quick shower now.

photobucket

Log in to write a note