Haircuts are for Lovers

I wrote this February 6th but didn’t post it (as usual). I thought to post it on Valentine’s Day as it seemed fitting but Valentine’s Day came and went. So before it gets any older, here it is.

There’s something so sweet, tender, intimate and innocent about a couple doing one another’s hair. Cutting/dying more specifically. I saw a video today on YouTube that was just so charming. It was simple, nothing too exciting, just a girl cutting her boyfriend’s hair. “I trust you completely.” he said. To which she replied, “Really? You shouldn’t.” haha I liked it.

To be honest I always have liked the idea. It made me think of these lyrics I’ve always been drawn to:

I cut his hair myself one night,
a pair of dull scissors in the yellow light,
and he told me that I’d done alright,
and he kissed me til the morning light, the morning light,
and he kissed me til the morning light.

I know this song has another meaning to it but that chunk resonated with me in this way.

When G and I were together and obviously long distance, I always had this vision of him helping me dye my hair blue. And like in the movies, I’d look in the mirror after just having rinsed it out, shaking it a bit with my fingers and smiling, turning around to hug him and give him a kiss. I remember discussing it with him once, describing my vision and him agreeing wholeheartedly telling me that’s how he pictured it too.

Just seems like love to me.

Samson – Regina Spektor

Log in to write a note
February 18, 2021

I’ve never thought about this with haircuts but I can see that.