Stranger Danger

August 20, 2020 – 9:45 A.M.

There was a good chunk of time where I was walking to the bus stop or trax station every day because my beloved first car’s engine totally shit out on me and I was too stubborn to let anyone drive me to work. And this was during winter time although that’s not necessarily important to this story.

I remember one day I had just gotten off work and was walking to the bus stop as usual when a car passing by slows down and pulls over. I thought it was a guy I worked with so I walked up to the passenger side where the window was rolled all the way down. But upon approaching the car I lean down looking in and realizing it’s a complete stranger offering me a ride. Very caught off guard and definitely not getting in his car I said no thank you. He insisted. I told him it was just down the street. He offered to drive me to just down the street. I again declined. Then there was a weird pause and he said, “well, can I get a hug?” as he leans over the passenger seat, arms outstretched. Hahah I apologized and said no… another awkward pause. Then he accepts it and was just like okay… and drove away. Has to be one of the oddest encounters of my life lol

Log in to write a note