More stuff I like

Here’s a few more that missed the last list.

MAD magazine (http://www.dccomics.com/mad/)
– I’ve been reading Mad since 1972 and I’m practically a lifetime subscriber.
Each month I look forward to the new issue and reading and discussing it with
my son. Yes, it’s not the same as it was (they now have advertising and use
color) and quite a few of the great ones have passed on (Dave Berg, Bill Elder,
Bill Gaines, Harvey Kurtzman, Don Martin, Antonio Prohias, George Woodbridge)
but it still offers back page fold-ins, movie and television parodies, Spy vs.
Spy, and a certain gap-toothed guy with big ears. They now have new blood and
never fail to make me laugh. Mad is probably the oldest continuous source of
parody and satire available and has inspired artists, writers, and imitators. I
found it to be a fun magazine as a boy and to my surprise I found that reading
it today 33 years after my first exposure is almost as enjoyable as it was
then. Mad is a wonderful way to put a uniquely graphic and humorous spin on the
events occurring around us. I hope that I will always be able to appreciate the
humor that the magazine attempts to portray, and that I never take life too
seriously. Mad is a true survivor. It has managed to reinvent itself ever since
its inception. It always strikes a blow for the people that do not conform, and
then it strikes them also… That’s Mad! This is a hilarious magazine, as long
as you keep an open mind and don’t mind when it insults your favorite things.

Wired magazine (http://www.wired.com/)
– I’ve been reading and subscribing to Wired since the 2nd issue. Covers
a variety of topics all closely related to technology. There is no better
magazine out there for staying current with the technological state of the art.
Wired has managed to find a seemingly impossible niche as the commentator of
choice on cutting-edge technological and societal trends–which, interestingly
enough, are most often inextricably combined. Some articles will be about
technological advances, others scientific, some will be purely about the people
behind the science–others about how the subject is changing society. Wired has
stayed ahead of the trends and manages to hit topical issues regularly and with
unmatched depth. I look forward to each and every issue. It is always
interesting. But Wired is about much more than new and interesting technology,
for me, it’s about perspective. Wired always takes an adventurous and unorthodox
view on today’s social, scientific, and political topography. But most
refreshingly, they observe the world optimistically. How rare is that! In addition,
every issue contains a radar update of cool; cool music, movies, books…cool
gadgets for home and lifestyle; Wired is – aside from being one of my favorite
magazine – also, in my opinion, the coolest. Wired is an educational,
interesting, worthwhile read – I definitely recommend this magazine to anyone
interesting in technology and how it is shaping our future.

TV Guide magazine (http://www.tvguide.com/)
– I’ve been reading and using TV Guide for as long as I can remember. With the
massive proliferation of cable channels the bulk of the magazine, that is the stuff
on the newsprint, is a strength, especially since there are more close-ups than
ever before. When it comes to previewing the new shows and looking at what is
up with the returning favorites it is very good. Expanding the “Cheers and
Jeers” section was good, because that gets into the details of what is out
there in the vast wasteland and “Hits & Misses” is the first place to go to
find out what is happening the next week with notable programming.
The regular features and writers are fine.

Franklin Covey (http://www.franklincovey.com/)  – The 7 Habits has been around now for 15
years and are still among the best selling books ever only because the
principles work. Stephen Covey is a prolific writer and knows what of he
speaks. Effectiveness is different from efficiency. Many people are busy
everyday, doing a lot of things, but are they effective? Efficiency is merely
being busy. Effectiveness is getting results. Stephen Covey shows how to reach
maximum effectiveness. Bottom line, this is the best self-help book available.
It is a must read for anyone who is interested in understanding the concept of
how principles can drive our life and make us more effective and efficient.
This is the entire basis of the book: through principle-centered living, we can
become more effective in our life and relationships. Covey has a way of writing
that completely compliments his stories and concepts. He is well educated, well
experienced, and well gifted in writing. I do believe that this book will
remain the best available for a long time to come. If you are interested in
learning how to change your effectiveness through principle-centered living, by
changing yourself from the inside out, then this book is for you. It is a must
read. It made a huge impact on my life. The sequence is logical and sound. This
book helped me to claim my power and manage myself. I highly recommend The 7
Habits. 

Regards…
-B-

Log in to write a note
May 3, 2005

Good choices… I love most of those things too although Wired is often a little above my head (Mad is not LOL) Lets not forget The Onion, though, Mad for grown ups 😉 That also makes me laugh like crazy and is similar in that it attacks at all levels. Covey is great, I agree. I admire your writing and your eloquence. Do you know EVERYTHING???? Love, ME!!!!

May 6, 2005

I know you are a big reader so these choices don’t surprise me much! I know Mad is your all time fav! Love you Dad!!!

May 7, 2005

Thx for the note- I have not heard of any of these, but then again I haven’t heard for a lot of things so I am going to go with Eryssa and say good choices, bc obiviously she wouldn’t say that if they were bad. have a good day! L