Chugging Along…

Everyone’s notes were very lovely. Thanks. It is a very very sad tragedy for her family to deal with. It’s also extremely sad for those friends of hers that loved her very much. I’m sure she is in a much better place now… at least I hope that she is. Death is never an easy thing to deal with and this is compacted and made even more tragic by her young age and the fact that suicide was the only possible solution for her.

Onto other things.

It’s been an odd couple of days in Melbourne. One day it’s sunny and hot and the next it’s raining… I mean, this is no surprise to Melbournians of course, our lovely city is rather infamous for it’s constant change in climate. That being said, I’ve tried to use the days productively. On Friday it rained and poured and then rained some more. Em and I were quite content to being a bit lazy and useless right up until I had to pick Mum up from work. Unfortunately she works a good 40 minute drive away which irritates me on these days. I just don’t like driving in that sort of rain. The roads are slippery, other motorists can be morons and I had about 3 VERY near miss car accidents because of other people believing that they can be pathetically stupid on the road in dangerous weather. Ugh. But I came through ok and Mum, Em and I went and ate a late lunch Romanza. By the time I got home (after then picking Ty up from school and then dropping Mum back home) I was completely pooped. We then just mooched around a little bit more until dinner and then straight after that I had top go to work.

Saturday I got home, managed to lose my sunglasses (which is particularly frustrating given that I hate being without them) and waited for Em to wake up.  I watched a bit of Nick Jnr with the kiddies and got breakfast all ready before we decided to set off for the Vic Market. It was hellishly busy and hardly any parking spots available (everyone seems to like market shopping on nice days) and I had to sneak up an aisle in the car parking area the wrong way in order to get one. Meh, everyone else was doing the same and I was sick of losing all the car parks to those people so when you can’t beat them, join them hey?

We did our shopping and came home, before I decided that I really really needed a Nanna Nap before we went out that night. Now this might sound absolutely ridiculous but I was just wiped out by a few of the late nights I’d had this past week and there was no way I could have stayed awake without it. So I kipped, Mike and Em chatted and the kids amused themselves playing. I awoke at 5pm, jumped in the shower and then got ready before helping Em to curl her hair (ooooh the new short hair do is bewdiful!!!!)…. Then we left for the trivia night.

It was fun, except the people hosting it made the questions wayyyyyyyy too hard and that kinda sucked. They were also quite focused on Victoria stuff so Em kinda was lost there (being a Perth gal). Nevertheless I was very happy when I remembered what the "Sliding Filament Theory" was (muscular contraction) and won a point for my team  that most other people didn’t know. It’s quite impressive that I should know that one too, since the night that we studied all that stuff at CHerise’s we’d had wayyyyy too much wine. Somehow it stuck in my brain… so yay. At the end of the night our team drew with another team (the young cricket lads) who had been cheating all night (rrrrrrr). Being that they didn’t have enough bottles of wine to cover two teams they decided on a sudden death round. We sent Jill up the front and they sent some dopey looking idiot to answer their question. What was the question? The capital of Lebanon. Jill didn’t know it and neither did the dopey guy either… that is until I saw one of his teammates mouth the answer to him and he got it right. We all got very cross that the judges didn’t see the cheat so they still won, but I was quite pisseed off that they weren’t discovered.

Anyhoo, it was just a trivia night, no biggie.

After all that Em and I drove to Chapel Street (along with the other 3 million people) coz she wanted to go out. I prefer to go out when I don’t have my car (parking and no drinking is kinda un-fun) but since I didn’t feel like going all the way home to drop it off first I, we still went. The queues down Chapel Street was crazy. I mean, I’m quite aware that Saturday night around Prahran isn’t the best when it coems to driving, but ahhh well. We ended up parking quite a way away from the club area just because we were sick of sitting behind bunches of macho idiots simply intent of revving, honking and playing excessively loud music. Lol, yes, this is mainly what Chapel Street is about, but I don’t like it!!!  wahahahahaha.

We ended up at Frostbites and Em got stuck into the Strawberry Daiquaris. That is after she managed to drown in an entire bottle of wine at the trivia night. Sooo funny. It wasn’t jam packed at Frosty’s (which is probably good since I hate sardine-in-a-can-dancing). We checked out the dancing area and had a bit of a bop around, but then decided to go and find a seat. We managed to score a couch which was good and just spent the time chatting. Emma quite liked a boy sitting at a table but for the life of her couldn’t get him to come over. He was "minding" the table and the drinks for a whole bunch of his mates that had disappeared. He wanted her to go there and she wanted him to comes to her. In the end neither of them made any moves and he left a little while later. No loss, he wasn’t THAT spectacular. LOL.

Anyway, we got home at about 3am. Not too late. But like I said it was kind of a bummer to sit and watch Em drinbk while I sipped iced water. The idea of taking a taxi home and then having to drive all the way to Prahran again the following morning didn’t appeal to me at all. So we left BUT I do want to go out another night when I don’t have to worry about cars and driving etc at all.

So… Melbournites, I want some REALLY TOP suggestions for nightlife. C’mon now, fess up!!!

Vee

P.S: I got my results today for Uni and I passed my first year. Wooohoooo. So all is good. I am very very happy!!!!

Log in to write a note
December 4, 2005

woohoo! congrats on the pass!!i have no idea about night life in melbs 🙂 we’ve only ever been to the palais (or whatever the nightclub part is called, i cant remember) we did go to a few other places, but they werent so coolryn: that chic was stupid 🙂 but, im over it coz i bet she felt silly!!!!!!

December 4, 2005

Gee…I sound like an alcoholic!!!

December 4, 2005

I’m going to melbourne Next month, so i Might have to steal some suggestions off you.

December 4, 2005

well done on the Uni results, and for resisting the urge to abandon your car and obliterate yourself in margaritas!

December 4, 2005

First of all, congrats on passing your first year! Second, sound like you guys had a fun night. Yeah being the sober one can suck but at the same time, you can still make it loads of fun. And trivia, I used to do that every week. It was interesting I might say and our team rocked so much that we soon took first place every night we went. It’s fun AND educational. lol

December 4, 2005

Blue (Below crown) on a saturday is pretty good but sooo packed!

December 4, 2005

Oh, how I ADORE trivia nights. They’re so fantastic. Damn those people for cheating. That’s not the right spirit! If you come to Canberra you’ll have to go to the Phoenix quiz. So fun 😀 * Hope all the visiting is going well, sounds like you’re getting up to lots of mischeif. xx

December 4, 2005

And congrats on your results 🙂

December 4, 2005

woohoo congrats!

December 5, 2005

About last entry: It’s disturbing when things like that occur. There’s an investigation about a young man that died up here and it’s always so disturbing even if I don’t know the person. Pity about being Deso! That sucks. Next time though, there is ALWAYS a next time! =D Congrats on passing first year! Takes a load off, I’m sure. Sorry about no notes- my mouse had chucked a hissy fit! Frustrating!

December 5, 2005

aw, cheaters suck. damn them!

December 5, 2005

congrats on your first year of uni! 😀

December 5, 2005

Congrats hun told u that u could do it!

December 6, 2005

Congrats with uni results. And thanks heaps for the advice as i have no idea what to do when i get there accommodation wise if i should have just stayed ina hostel or got share accommodation so i think i will be taking your advice adn looking for share accommodation. Very scary!!!

December 6, 2005

congrats on passing the first year! Woooooooooo-hoo as for the not liking driving on nights out, Id offer to help (I dont really drink) but lugging the Bronwen around at that time of night could prove difficult!

December 7, 2005

Dakota is always good