Everybody’s free to feel good…

Thanks for all ya comments guys… *sniffles* I love you all! *mwah*  

Ok, now the sap is out the way, lemme start with the real entry!

Friday night was nice. My parents invited us all to the Zoo for the twilight evening. It occurs every Friday night during summer (weather permitting) and the zoo stays open until 10pm with a band playing in the rotunda. Friday’s bad was "Blue’s Brothers" covers and (I found out) the reason my dad was there was because a few of his mates from the musical theatre company he belongs to were playing. lol… no my father isn’t an actor (that’s my mother – hence the genetic love of all things dramatic) but he does play in the bands/stagecrew/sound engineering… so he’s more of a behind-the-scenes dude. Anyhoo… so I put together quite a nice feast of dips, breads, olives, sundried tomatos (ed: thanks Tea & Sympathy) etc etc to take along and my parents brought the wine and the picnic blankets/seats. It worked out well (except that Mike didn’t get home until slightly later than I had figured meaning that we all got stuck in peak hour traffic!) and it was a nice night. In our typical style Mum and I got up and danced (as good as two chicks with ankle problems – her with her healing left ankle – and me with my bad right ankle… lol), it was more like boogie-ing but hey… it was fun. The girls’ danced and ran around with all the other kids and it was fascinating to watch the swing dancers in action. Mannnnn would I love to have their energy and pizzazz!!! The only group NOT happy with the night was the lions who were situated right near the rotunda (where the band was playing). At about 9.00pm you could hear the roars of disgruntlement coming from their cage… it was evident that they weren’t as taken with the "Blue’s Brothers" as we were. I walked over the ramp to see them and they were all very ready to be put in their beds for the evening. I tried getting a photo of them but the flash pissed them off even more so I aborted mission pretty quickly. Anyway we all enjoyed ourselves immensley and the girls ran themselves ragged and fell asleep in the car on the way home! Bonus!

Saturday didn’t herald anything spectacular. We did the family shopping minus Tylah (who chose to go with my parents to do theirs instead) which was pretty cool. The only not-so-cool thing was that we wiped out all the money, lol. I do have a full pantry so it’s not so bad.

The rest of Saturday came and went in super fast fashion.. I spoke to *K* who was equally as bored and we were tossing up the idea of seeing a movie. Unfortunately there’s not a great deal that I actually want to see at the minute… so I felt resigned to blah-dom. Instead I ended up picking her up, we had a yummy hot chocolate in Camberwell and then we drove around aimlessly until I took her home. I felt very… aimless. lol. But hey, it did get us both out of the house, reduced our cabin fever somewhat.

Today was also a day for very little. I had a brainwave to call Phillip and go for a coffee which was very nice. Once again I managed to remove myself from the tangle of children that usually follow me around and had adult conversation which felt super good! This was because I let Mike have a nice, long sleep-in… lucky boy. So I wandered around Chadstone, wanting desperately to quench my retail therapy urge, but alas unable to as I had zero cash. Argh… isn’t that just the pits? I ALWAYS find good things to buy when I have no money.

Now it’s 6.30pm. I can’t really be bothered making anything glamerous for dinner, so it’s just the good old jaffle iron, a couple pieces of bread and some spaghetti and cheese for toasted sammiches. I might even chuck a can of soup on the stove… lol. Easy as pie without any stress and the kids love it!

And that’s my week-end. I’m off to enjoy the evening breeze that is drifting through the house.

Night all..

Vee

 

 

Log in to write a note
February 4, 2006

mmm I love those dunfried tomatas! ;p xx

February 4, 2006

Yeah aint that always the case, you always find heaps of stuff to buy when you can never afford them. Its a bugger. Twilight night at the Zoo sounds fun, I must check it out before it closes up for the season.

A night at the zoo sounds like a perfect night to me. I took the kids through Melbourne Zoo last year, it was great…went to the Open Range one too, now that is a fantastic zoo!

February 5, 2006

That sounds lovely! I’ve wanted to goto a twilight zoo trip, but never really got around to it before. I used to love going when I was in school and holding the snake and lizard etc lol.

February 5, 2006

I always find the best things to buy when I’m broke, but when there are pennies in my wallet I find myself coming home with piles of random junk. Such is life..and impulse shopping I suppose.

February 5, 2006

I love jaffles!! they rock, talking about food, ryn and thanks. Tell you what, we will support eachother and when we succeed, I’ll come down and we can run chadstone ragged.. or even better Chapel street!!

February 5, 2006

Sounds like a decent weekend all in all. It does always to seem that you find the best bargins and things that you want when you have no money, it’s just not fair, lol.

February 5, 2006

easy dinners- the best!!

February 5, 2006

come eat my pringles for me! PLEASE!

February 5, 2006

Sounds like a pretty nice weekend! Glad you were able to go out and have some fun. RYN: Thank you! 🙂

February 5, 2006

Sounds like a nice weekend and the thing in the park sounds extra nice! What fun. Why don’t I do things like that? I’m sure I don’t ever know when ANYTHING cool is going on. *Sigh* Hope the ankle is feeling better today!!

February 5, 2006

ahhh family bliss. I love it. That twilight zoo sounds like a good idea me thinks. Thanks Vee. xoxox

February 5, 2006

Your trip to the Zoo sounds like such fun, wish we had something like that here.

February 5, 2006

Mmmm ~~~ looks like it is jaffles for dinner at my place tonight haha — cheese and vegemite. Hope that you have a fantastic week and take care xoxo When do you go back to uni chicky babe?

February 6, 2006

wow the zoo sounds really nice! RYN: Sounds like its because they as mother put their life on hold, and expect us to do the same? Which i just think is so unrealistic really.

February 6, 2006

I love the sound of your night at the Zoo it sounds so well romantic is not the word but it sounds so summer-y and so relaxing. I dont know if that makes sense mate I sure hope so! I dont have Skype yet but i’m looking into it-I have been smart enough to give my phone number to the people I want to talk to from back home and THEY call me so I dont pay a cent! It’s so good to be back writing again

Sound like u had a pretty relaxing weekend! Which is good! 🙂 And a full pantry is always good lol

February 6, 2006

spaghetti and cheese on bread?? that’s a combo i’ve never encountered before that sounds like a really nice outing…family, good food, dancing, good music…:)happy times

February 6, 2006

ryn: thanks! hehe, yes I am setting my alarm for 8am on Wed to enrol right on time so that I get the good tute times! How sad! hehe. can’t believe we go back in like 3 weeks!

February 7, 2006