Finalising Immigration…

I have to say that this has really been the biggest part of my relationship and marriage. Everything Mike and I have done and everywhere we’re gone has had to have been photographed, witnessed and signed off as proof that our relationship REALLY exists.

I always felt that their control over us and our marriage was odd and unfair until I read an article in the newspaper about the increased statistics on "business marriages." Then I understood. Apparently the number of people that are forging their way into this country with "business deals" as opposed to serious relationships is very very high and ever on the increase.

I’m not sure how this makes me feel. On the one hand I’m really cross with these people because it’s THEM that makes my job just that little bit harder… it’s THEM that make the immigration department crackdown on relationships and it’s them that make the immigration officials look at us suspiciously when they ask how we met and when we tell them "online."

But we’ve been through all that tough stuff. We’ve been to interviews and talked with people on the phone. We’ve submitted form and form after form ad nauseum over the last 2 years and waited for the next letter in a long line of many that tell us that we’ve passed yet another stage and Mike can stay for the time being.

Now we’re up to the last batch of paperwork. Truthfully I felt lie this day might never come. Having said that the last 3 and a half years have gone by so fast that I’m almost not prepared but I have to… because this is it. After this portfolio is finished we just have to sit back and wait and see if it’s approved.

So. What does a portfolio consist of. What is it that immigration wants to know about us as a couple?

Well, they want proof. They want: Proof that we’ve lived together since he arrived here (in the form of rental documents), Photos, Emails, Invitations that we’ve been invited to as a couple, Bills (Phone, Utilities etc), Statutory declarations from friends and family attesting that our relationship is true and real, Tax Documents, Letters from Centrelink that confirm we are in a partnership, Federal Police checks that confirm neither of us are criminals, Copies of our Marriage certificate and our birth certificates… and the list goes on. It’s a tedious task… it’s time consuming because I want to make sure that it looks absolutely accurate and tells a story to someone who doesn’t know us… I want them to understand that online relationships can and have worked over and over again. I want them to see that we’re not just another "business deal" (which sounds so funny to say)…

And that’s about it. I really should be doing more work and less writing in here!

Vee

Log in to write a note
January 8, 2006

Wow what a task! Well soon it will all be over with 🙂 And I agree, it can work meeting someone online. I guess you can look at it in a weird was as a scrapbook of your relationship though right? hehe Get on it!

January 8, 2006

Holy crap!!! I suppose they want to know the last time you went to the toilet too!! I had no idea that you met your hubby online — that is just WOW (in a good-you’ve-restored-my-faith way lol!!! Not that I’m lookign to meet anyone though LOL. I wish you both the best of luck with it all. xoxoxoxox RYN: And I thought I had big boobs LOLOL. I can’t go strapless either 🙁

January 8, 2006

Eek… that’s as bad as filling out adoption paperwork.

January 8, 2006

How did I miss that you met Mike online? Dang! Well, that is very prominent here in the US, too. I know 3 women that have married men just so they can have citizenship. The guys pay all their bills, etc… so it helps the woman financially and keeps the man in the states. I hate it. Makes me mad! Makes it harder on the ones that really do love each other! You guys will be fine! It’s worth it! 🙂

January 8, 2006

How cool you met on-line & it’s worked out brilliantly. Where is Mike from?? Good luck with all the paperwork. Take Care

January 8, 2006

Sorry, forgot to reply to your note. I’m lucky, a new gym opened down the road & they had an opening special of $50 per month unlimited…so cheap!!! And I’m not going to WW anymore, a friend gave me a memebership to http://www.calorieking.com.au I’m finding it brilliant. It’s really cheap too $50 for the year. Have a good one.

Well good luck with it all!!! RYN: thanks! I appreciate it!

January 8, 2006

At least it will be over soon!!! RYN: You’re so naughty. I love it…

January 8, 2006

DAMN PAPERWORK!!! I know the feeling of that. It sucks. There should just be a button you can press or something. It really does suck that one or two people can ruin it for the rest 🙁

January 8, 2006

ryn: sandy point is kinda near Foster, Wilsons Prom kinda way…

January 8, 2006

I had no idea the two of you had met online! That all sounds a bit tedious, but I guess in some ways you can understand, still it sucks for couples who are ligitimate..like you guys. I’m not really sure what that Lauren picture is of. It’s a tiny bit terrifying.

January 8, 2006

Hey I just surfed over from ScorpioGal & Janeys OD – hope you don’t mind me dropping by. Trying to broaden my list of Oz OD’ers.

January 8, 2006

1.Congratulations on finishing! 2. That’s a crazy amount of information! 3. I’ve met someone in a fake marriage for immigration purposes. He was a shady character so you can feel angry at him for making your life that much harder.

January 8, 2006

LOL NOW I understand the notes between you and the ScorpioGal ……… thanks btw.

January 8, 2006

hey poppet The other night when you rang, I was actually staring at my phone thinking that I didn’t even have anyone I could call about it. Thanks so much Vee, it was so good to have someone to talk (or sob, really :oP) to. One last hurdle and you and Mike are home clear! Wheeee!!

January 8, 2006

I am almost convinced that the immigration guy never even opened our “proof” folder. The whole thing is degrading and such a privacy invasion. Problem is, as you say, those bad apples that have ruined it for everyone else.

January 9, 2006

That situation sounds so taxing to be involved in, but I guess when it comes down to it you atleast know that you have the proof. You ARE a married couple. You ARE in love, you’re not cheating a system and atleast you keep small pieces of affection that might not mean much to anyone else but hold a lot of importance to a relationship like yours =)

January 9, 2006

I remember building a huge book on our relationship for Canada Immigration. I still have it in fact!

Gosh! U learnt sumthing new every day 🙂

August 23, 2006

I remember going through all that immigration mess. I”m SO glad its done…..for the time being anyhow! Good luck:)