I saw him again

I don’t have time to write much because it’s 2:30 am and I have to be up with the baby shortly, but I felt I needed to write about this moment.

Michael and I had an amazing conversation tonight.

He asked me who I was and I told him I am a wife and a mother.

He said no, not what are you, who are you?

I said… I am your wife and Michael Wayne’s mother. That’s who I am. That’s who I exist to be. If you’re asking about who I am personally, I would say I’m an artist, a thinker, a dreamer. I am compassionate and caring, but mostly I am honest to a fault. I hurt people with my honesty.

Then, the strangest thing I’ve ever seen happened. He looked away and sat in silence for about 45 seconds. I was like… Helllooooo?

He just looked at me and said, “I feel badly for you.”

I was like, “Okay? What in the hell does that mean?”

And he couldn’t speak. He just said it again. Then he said, “I’m cold. My insides are cold, and I just feel badly for you.”

I had to press and press and press. He expressed he couldn’t find words to describe what he was feeling. “Do you feel pity for me? Do you feel sympathy for me? What do you mean by badly?” And then he touched my ankle, and his hands, when I tell you they were cold.. I’ve never felt a human being feel so cold in my life. They were colder than ice.

I’ll have to get into the details later, but we sat and talked for about an hour and it was the first time in years that I felt I could see him again. The real him. The person I thought was there all along but wasn’t sure anymore. The person I thought was the most magical, incredible human I’d ever encountered that just evaporated over time.

I’ll have to say more later, but I feel a sense of relief I haven’t felt in years. Years. He smiled at me like I haven’t seen him smile in years.

Log in to write a note
May 2, 2023

You got me on the edge of my seat. I want to hear more. <3

May 15, 2023

@celestialflutter We’ve just had a total breakthrough the past two weeks. Michael’s trauma response is freeze. His mother is highly toxic while also being completely non-confrontational. She will lie and lie and lie or run when confronted and say everything is fine in a soft tone then turn around and gossip to everyone and say ugly things behind their back. (Sound familiar? Lol I know you know.) Anyway, we finally figured out that every time I confronted him with a problem, he was unable to handle it because he never learned the skills. So over the course of several years he’s just been shutting down tighter and tighter to protect himself. And the more I would fight and push to get him back, the farther away he would go from me. He’s never experienced someone being honest and direct from a place of love before. So he’s finally seeing those things. We have a lot of work to do but we’re in a great place of clarity now. Lots of therapy in our future 😂 but it’s great to have him back.

May 15, 2023

@ohmylanta I love hearing things like this. My husband  is kind of like that. He locks up tight when triggered. And I am the opposite. The flight response is soooo strong in me. Lol. I most definitely have nomad DNA in me. 😄

Love is a lot of work but it’s every bit worth it. <3

Much love to you!