Michael Wayne’s First Birthday!

Dear Diary,

What a beautiful first birthday Michael Wayne had! My cousin Mickey came up from San Diego. Carole came early on the day of the party and watched the baby so I could fix everything up and it was such a relief. I wouldn’t have been able to do it without them.

The party was amazing! We had tons of balloons and decorations and just the right amount of people came. And people with kids, too which was really nice! A lot of us got in the pool and had a blast. It was really beautiful. My client Amy came. She has a two year old son and they had so much fun playing together. He got several really cute presents. DaDa got him a new swing and a slide, and Carole got him a lovely wagon to match his toy one. He got lots of new books and cute little toys, some outfits. It was just really perfect. I loved it.

Then I went down with Mikey to San Diego for two days which was so great! We went to big bear and kayaked. It was so fun! It was windy and cold, but we made the best of it and it was really actually kind of more fun because of that because we just kept laughing about the wind blowing us all over the place. It was a great workout.

Speaking of workouts, I’ve started swimming again and I’m starting to lose a little bit of weight. My figure is slowly coming back. I used to be a person who worked out every day sometimes twice a day. I didn’t expect it would be so difficult for me to get back into it, but I am. It’s really cool, there’s two city pools a mile away in both directions from my house. I took Tiny Wayne to one of them and he loved it! Not a single tear was shed, as his father and I say lol. He loves other people, especially kids. He jumps out of my arms and wants to hug and wave at all of them. It’s just adorable. He’s also a very visual child. He truly enjoys looking at art. There’s a mural at the pool that we looked at for about 15 minutes because he was enjoying taking it in. It’s cool to see. I’m glad he appreciates art. I’m not surprised, but also I know that he is his own person, and just because I am artistic does not mean he will have the same interests, but I’m definitely very happy to learn he appreciates art.

He says things backwards when he’s learning them. When he started to say Mama, he would say it backwards; “Amah, Amah!” He said Thank you for the first time today, backwards of course–he said, “N’gth!” We play this game where he hands me whatever he’s holding, and I take it and hold it to my chest and say, “Thank you!” Then I hand it back to him and he holds it to his chest and we go back and forth. He’s such a thoughtful kid. He loves to share his food with me.

The one thing we can’t seem to get a goddam handle on is the bugs in his room. I don’t even know what kind of bugs. I thought they were bed bugs at first but… maybe spiders? I mean, I spray in there and I steam his stuff constantly. I’ve done pesticide spray around the house twice now. Me and Michael don’t get any bites. I don’t see any bugs when I clean. I’m not sure if maybe it’s mosquitos and he’s allergic? But about once a month he wakes up and has little bites everywhere, but this time it was particularly bad. He has two right on his face. We have a doctor’s appointment tomorrow so maybe she’ll have something to say about it, but I’m also a little embarrassed that I can’t figure it out and keep him safe from the buggies.

I had a super fun time in San Diego with Mickey. It’s so great to have a family member that’s close by and really gives a fuck. He really really loves Michael Wayne. I met a lot of his friends and we had beers and watched the sun set over the ocean. It was awesome.

 

Until next time!

Log in to write a note