Great weekend….

My daughter and I drove up to Greenville on Saturday afternoon…we were on a mission…I wanted to visit the Greenville County Museum and see the Andrew Wyeth collection.  The Greenville Museum has the largest collection of Wyeth paintings in the country.  It was well worth the trip…we soaked up these wonderful watercolors of my favorite artist and also got to enjoy the wonderful Reedy River Park and Gardens.  The day was so relaxed and calm…we started out in the morning and went to the park and walked and walked and took pictures. The walk was a winding stroll around the park grounds that ended in the Childrens Garden…a secret garden with an alphabet of flowers.  I ate some parsley from Mr. Macgregor’s garden and a bite of lettuce too!  Ohhh… …we crossed over the wonderful suspension bridge and headed to a little restaurant for lunch called Mary’s Restaurant…

The mood was peaceful there as we sat on the terrace and looked out over the park.  It took a long time to get served but we chatted and enjoyed the view.  It started to rain and a young man eating lunch with his girlfriend opened the patio umbrella for us.  Our lunch was worth the wait and the view was stunning.  The river is full of geese and ducks….the goslings and ducklings are swimming every where…we watched a drama unfold….as a mother duck hopped into the water her ducklings hesitating on the rock edge a dog on a lead rushed to the water and scared the little ducklings and they  kerplop kerplop kerplop… leapt into the water….we continued to watch as a goose approached them and pecked at one of the ducklings….scurry scurry….running on water…they swam to their mother’s side…one would get side tracked and swim the opposite way…and the onlookers on shore would call out…."go back go back swim to your Mother" it was quite the encouraging crowd…us humans on the shore….one young mother was telling her little children about the "ugly duckling" as one of the brood stood out a bright yellow duckling.

After lunch we walked back to our car and headed for the museum, it doesn’t open until 1pm on Sundays.  The admission is free but the experience was priceless!   The museum was just given a painting from 1946 called "Four Poster"….a gift from Mr. Miliken, who now at 93 gave the painting in honor and memory of his wife.  I really can’t put into words how I felt seeing the paintings it was an incredible experience for me.  I look forward to coming back…..We think our next weekend trip might be to Charleston…

Looking out over the falls of the Reedy River

We sat above this level where thru the leaves you can see the other terrace…

flowers and rocks…I love the contrast…

"Stay by me brothers I scare him away"

I love pansies!

Roots!

my sweet girl at the entrance to the Secret Garden…

Happy Memorial Day friends…fly your flags!

Log in to write a note
May 25, 2009

I’m the happy young lady on the otherside of the BF! LOL!!!! Will be catching up later. Blessings

May 25, 2009

glad you had a good time… your daughter is beautiful… she looks just like you!!…. 🙂

May 25, 2009

What a wonderful place to visit. It is about time you showed up here. You have been gone way too long.

May 25, 2009

What beautiful pictures! I’ve never been to the Carolinas, but if this is an example, I’d get on the next plane (if I had the money!)

May 25, 2009

I love the little yellow chick; certainly not an ugly duckling!

I would love to visit the garden

May 26, 2009

mother/daughter outings like that are truly special….as are your magical photos and word pictures. RYN: I too am glad we’ve reconnected…have missed you too. Take care…huggles P

Wow, what a beautiful place. And your daughter is lovely! I’m glad you two have such a nice time together.

May 27, 2009

RYN: Thank you for your note. I certainly agree with you.

May 31, 2009

This is truly wonderful, Ollie. I just loved it. Your daughter looks so much like you. How is Stanely? RYN: Yes, it was before we moved to Blue Heaven. I have only gotten to go back to Tennessee since I was twelve…once in 1975 and stayed for a brief while and then in 2005, we had to go through it when we were running from Katrina. We spend two days in Fort Payne, Ala which is 35 miles from Chattanooga. We drove up through Memphis and then down into Ark to enter Texas at Texarkana. My heart was breaking over the hurricane but my joy went wild to once more be in Tennessee. I so want to go back for a visit someday. I loved the pictures in this entry and the wonderful words as well. With love,

June 1, 2009

I feel I was there with you on this trip! Your daughter could never be thought to be anyone else’s daughter–she looks so like you that I was confused for a moment. Darling. I have never heard of this place, myself. Now I want to visit. So good to find an entry from you here. Cute duckie’s story, too. Wyeth collection! Wow!!

June 1, 2009

ryn: that would be great!

June 2, 2009

Beautiful pictures and a lovely daughter.

June 3, 2009

ryn: thank you for your good wishes. We so appreciate them.

June 5, 2009

RYN: Thank you for your kind comments. I don’t know about being a good writer. I keep remembering what my college English professor said about my dangling participles and unfinished sentences. Well…something like that. Heehee.

June 6, 2009

Lovely garden and girl. Thank you. RYN: Which Cheryl? The one who writes here? I send emails off to her and get silence back.

June 27, 2009

Click on me and see something new. Love,

RYN: I know that so many here on OD are praying for Lori and wishing her well, and I’m sure you fall into that category. I don’t feel it is my place to give out her name or address on the rare chance that there will be some idiot out there that doesn’t have her best interest at heart. I’m sorry. I just don’t feel like I should be doing that. Thank you for caring and for thinking about her.

September 11, 2009

Wow…these pictures are bautiful and your daughter looks so beautiful also! Smiles.