The Great Pumpkin Run

I am so proud of my 71 year old self. I completed a 5k this past Saturday! It was an experience, I walked in the back with a friend who had a lot of apprehension if she could even finish. So I also was a cheerleader. Lots of fun and we were just going along at a leisurely pace. We were walking down our town’s main street and then made a turn and we were walking by the old Ohio/Erie canal. It was so interesting to read the historical plagues along the way. I like this feeling that I am healthy but oldness tries all the time to invade my good feelings. When is the boom going to drop…I try not to think that way but I am also a nurse and I can’t help but judge every ache or pain or bump or lump!

We finished and had our picture taken and got a banana, a glass of cider, a medal, and a little pumpkin. My friend was so happy and I was so happy for her. What is a 5K …. 3.1 miles?…I could have walked longer and faster but all is well. At the end of the day I had clocked over 15, 000 steps which was 6.6 miles! I think I could do a 10K!! Hold on Grandma take it easy ….lol. Take care.

Log in to write a note
October 23, 2017

Good for you!

October 23, 2017

Great work!

October 23, 2017

Congratulations. Particularly impressed since I’m 25 years your junior and am currently a bit unclear how I’d do in a 5k. Way to go.

November 12, 2017

Hi Eric, well there was no running involved but we did pick up the pace a few times with some fast walking…. I couldn’t have done this either if I haven’t been walking alot since I was in AZ. You can do it, you just have to start very slow….walk around the block and come home and pat yourself on the back!