A True Story for #FunnyFriday

This is a 100% true story that I think will work for #FunnyFriday, a Friday tradition in my favorite Facebook group.
Almost 30 years ago, when my baby sister, Audra, was about to turn 13, she begged my mom to allow her to get a Ouija board. She was having a slumber party and thought it would be fun.
My mom is pretty superstitious, so she was not about to have that.
But Audra is the baby, and she has always known how to work our mom and eventually, she got her way.
So on the night of her birthday, Audra and about four or five other girls were in her bedroom, setting up to use the Ouija board. My dad and brothers had gone to bed, and mom and I were sitting in the front room watching TV. Audra kept her bedroom door open, so I could hear their conversation as they worked out what they were going to do with the board.
One of the girls said, “We can’t have any bibles in the room. If there are bibles, the devil won’t like it.”
Another girl responded, “I don’t believe in the devil!”
I swear on my stack of first edition Harry Potter books that at that instant, the power went out in our neighborhood!
It was dead silent for about a millisecond, and then the screaming stampede began.
The lights were only out for a few seconds, but when they came on, I rushed into the hallway, there was a pile of crying teen girls on the floor and a stream of urine running out from under them.
My sister took that Ouija board and threw it out the front door. It never made it back into the house.
Log in to write a note
September 4, 2020

I am not really sure that those things are really true….

September 4, 2020

@jaythesmartone I think it’s just power of suggestion.  I don’t believe that the lights going out had anything to do with the board.  I just think it’s a funny story.

 

September 4, 2020

@oniongirl

It is a funny story…Does your sister laugh about it today?

September 4, 2020

LOL very good!

September 4, 2020

Ouija boards.  Ha! Sold as a game board, with the rest of the game boards, in the toy section.  Otherworldly, does not need a Ouija board to communicate with the living. The living simply needs to be open for it and believe.

September 4, 2020

How funny! 

September 4, 2020

My grandma would tell a story at a religious academy where a group of teens were playing with the Ouija board.  They placed a key in the book of Daniel, that is the way to invite the spirits in. Next thing the kids saw was 4 hands came out to the walls and were playing a violin.