Day Forty-Two

Dear Lunch Buddy,

Will there ever come a time in which you are not the diety to which my thoughts turn in times of joy and sorrow? Each new moment I experience, I do so with you in the corner of my eye. It is you with whom I want to have the light mocha frappacinos from Starbucks. It is you with whom I want to cuddle in the cool ocean air on the three day weekend trip to West Port that my family is planning over the 4th of July. It is you with whom I want to share every story of every event I experience.

Today was a good day. I woke early and my sister and I went to the grocery store and bought things to have a Mother’s Day BBQ at my mom’s house. I made my famous Greek salad that my mother loves. I also made my famous potato salad that Treehouse loves. I made a relish tray for the burgers, and I made a huge pitcher of Kool-Aid, which surprisingly everyone loved. (Sister and I were trying to save money, so we didn’t buy sodas this time.

There was a pleasant bustle in the kitchen as we made the preparations for the afternoon. I did most of the bustling, but I kind of like it that way. We pecked and crowed and cackled like any henhouse. It was fun.

After all the cooking and talking and eating and talking and eating some more, the family was gathered around the picnic table in the front yard. I didn’t want anything to spoil, so I started clearing stuff away, and put all the food away. When people started getting ready to go home, i got the last of the munchies off the table and took them into the house, where I was going to finish washing the parts from the rotisserie that I had put in to soak. My mom came in and told me that I didn’t need to worry about that. She said, "you’ve done more than enough, today. I really appreciate it."

I’m still that 4-year-old vying to hear my mother tell me I’m a good girl. It made me feel very full and happy. Days like today make me feel less lonely.

Sweetness met me at the door.

Log in to write a note