Depressed in My Body?

I have struggled with depression and anxiety for most of my life.  I’ve gotten pretty good at managing it.  I know what things usually calm me down or pick me up.  I know the conversations to have with myself.

What I’m currently experiencing is some weird kind of depression in which I just want to stay in bed all day.  I haven’t showered or brushed my teeth in at least a week.  I know that sounds pretty typical of depression, except that my mind is in a good place.

I’m working on a math curriculum that will incorporate real life skills with the state standards for math, and it’s working beautifully!  That makes me so happy.  It makes me feel like I’m still a valuable member of society.  I’ve been having so much fun with it.  I’m incorporating spreadsheets, so the one student I work with is learning something new, for a change!

He hasn’t done his homework, yet, so we may be working on spreadsheets tomorrow.  I was hoping to work on grocery shopping: planning. Meals for a week, then shopping for that.

I really think it’s my health and being isolated.  In some ways, Reno is worse than North Carolina, because in NC, I had a job and made friends with neighbors.  Here, I barely leave the house.  I used to have a pretty vibrant social life.  Now I’m down to one manic cat, and my husband, whose sleep schedule is almost exactly the opposite of mine.  He does try to be up with me, but his health really worries me.

I have started counseling, again.  I see her on Friday, this week.  I felt pretty good after our last session.  Hopefully we can do that again.

Log in to write a note
March 25, 2024

I get what I think of as “spring doldrums”. All I want to do is sleep. I can barely make myself do the smallest stuff. I may or may not have depression symptoms. Doesn’t seem to matter. It hits almost exactly the same time every year. I hope your therapist can really help. Mine has become so bland… it’s sad.

March 25, 2024

@snarkle I did take a shower.  I haven’t brushed my teeth, yet, because Ik wanted to eat first and I’m only just getting to that.  I’m thinking I’ll take a nap soon and brush before I lay down.

 

March 25, 2024

@oniongirl every small victory is a victory. Right?

March 26, 2024

Things are going great for me right now…but I am going through the I am so tired right now. Wouldn’t it be wonderful to wake up every day smiling and just ready to go. I too have suffered from depression most of life. Sometimes it’s not depression….it’s just I need a break from the every day doings.

March 28, 2024

I’m sorry you deal with this. I have a lot of anxiety too, and have has periods of depression in life. I’ll never forget a therapist once told me, when I said that I was fine but just wanted to be home and not do anything, she said that can also indicate depression, lack of motivation to do life things. Don’t forget to give yourself grace, because we all have our moment. I hope you start to feel better soon. <3

March 28, 2024

ugh typo *have had and *we all have our moments.