If Only We Were Lesbians

To this day, Adina is one of the best things that has ever happened to me.  We just clicked in so many ways.  I think the thing that really drew us close to each other was our common experience with Evangelicism.  In many ways, her experience had been harder than mine.  Her father had been a minister, but Adina didn’t remember him as being too uptight.  Sadly, he was killed in a horrible work accident when she was only eight years old.  Her mom was the one who really pushed the Evangelical beliefs.  Adina and her older brother had been sent to Christian schools.  She’d gone to a Christian College.  The job she’d left to transfer to California was at her Christian college.

We talked a lot about how not being able to believe the stuff we’re told we’re supposed to believe made it easier to just dismiss it all as manmade.  We both held a lot of bitterness and resentment and I was the first person she’d really been able to discuss these things with.  Even the friends she had in Oregon were part of the Evangelical community, so she felt that she couldn’t be truthful with them.  She felt like she was always being judged.

We both worked weekdays and had weekends off.  On weekends, I’d take her around and show her whatever she was interested in.  Adina liked shopping!  I hated it.  I’ve never been a girly girl.  I wore mascara once in a while, and I kept my hair cut in an easy style.  Otherwise, my fashion style was jeans and blouses, boots, and hats (I love hats!).  I didn’t carry a purse.  I had a wallet with a strap.

Adina liked purses and shoes, and makeup.  So we went to the Galleria mall and got free makeovers.  We went to Sephora and tried some samples.  We went to Nordstroms and looked at shoes and purses.  It was fun!  I’d never really had a girlfriend to go shopping with, before.  I’d never really appreciated how valuable it is to have women friends.

We started organizing girls nights out.  I had a lot of female friends from ren faire, as well as my two sisters and one of my cousins.   We’d have a great time, telling stories and laughing.  It was such a joyful thing.

Another thing that I appreciated about Adina is that no matter what I told her, she would always give me the benefit of the doubt.  She never judged.  She could always relate.

My family fell in love with her.  They kept telling me that they’d never seen me so happy.  One time I was visiting with my mom and she asked me if we were lovers.  That’s how close she and I had gotten.

I laughed and said, “No, Mom.  I like men.”

My mom said, “It’s ok if you are.  We love her!”

I told Adina about this and we both had a good chuckle.  If only we were.

Log in to write a note
August 23, 2018

Your relationship with Adina sounds awesome.

It is great to develop a strong friendship like that.