National Poetry Month – Day 1

The first lyrics I remember composing was a song I wanted to write when I was in 4th grade.  I thought that if you could write any song it would get on the radio and we’d be rich!  I always loved creative writing.  I always got great feedback on work I submitted for grades or publication.

In college, I really began to play with words.  I took a creative writing class with a teacher who, despite the fact that I hated it when she’d read her own poetry to the class, taught me one very powerful lesson about writing.  She referred to it as economy of words.  The idea was that when you want to say something important, the fewer words you can use, the more potent the message.  I wrote a lot for that class and another, and in both, my work was often shared as an example of good writing.

As a person who lived to be praised, that fueled a fire in me.  I realized that I could paint pictures and invoke emotions with words.  I cranked out a lot of bad poems punctuated by a good one, now and then.

As I neared the end of college, I realized that I’d gotten married for the wrong reasons, and that I didn’t want to be married anymore.  It would be years before I’d figure out why, in fact I’m still figuring that out, but I began to use my writing as a way to deal with unresolved feelings.

I’ll be sharing some of my favorite poems throughout this month.  Tonight, I’m sharing two, both of which are poems about writing poems.  The first one is called “Soul Therapy,” because that was what my writing became for me when a whole bunch of feeling I didn’t know I had festered to the surface.  The other is just called “Poems.”

Soul Therapy

Trapped in a cage of bone and darkness,
Haunted by words that have no meaning
And meaning that has no word,
My own mind is my darkest fear.

I speak, but no one listens.
I cry, but I am not consoled.
I scream, but I cannot be distinguished
From so many other screamers

There is no peace for me.
I am too weak or too strong
to stop this swirling sewage
with a bullet to the brain.

So I murder this page
with a ball point dagger;
and I watch the poison drip
from one more infected poem.

— © Jenna Roberts, 1995

 

Poems

bubbling juices of knowing and wishing i didn’t
spill over onto paper
leaving splotches like ink blots
that make you think you see what is not there

— © Jenna Roberts, 1993

Log in to write a note
April 2, 2019

There is this thing we have on our buses called “Poetry In transit”

https://www.google.com/search?q=vertigo+symptoms&oq=vertigo&aqs=chrome.2.69i57j0l5.6116j0j9&sourceid=chrome&ie=UTF-8

If you feel like it check out this link above and ask them if they will accept your poetry?  Then I think you will become famous.  It’s on B.C. buses but I am not sure of the rules or anything…check it out…..

April 2, 2019

@jaythesmartone it sounds like an interesting option.  I don’t think this is the  link you meant to send me, though.  😜

April 2, 2019

@oniongirl  If you want just type in “poetry in transit and a lot of other links will come up and then you can pick the one that is most relevant to you.

April 3, 2019

I like the poetry you wrote. Economy of words is a brilliant concept — I know there’s a short story that is basically written “Baby shoes for sale. Never worn…” which is very powerful and thought-provoking.

April 3, 2019

@justamillennial I’d never heard of that story, but it made my heart hurt, just reading that.