Oh, Pomegranate

Have you ever considered a pomegranate?  They’re really not very attractive on the outside.  They have a nice color, but their skin is uneven and not smooth, and their crowns curl out with some browning hairs. 

But then you peal away that rind, or simply break it open, and inside, there are several compartments separated by thin membranes.  Each compartment contains a cluster of jewel like berries, so red and sweet and tart.  You can pluck them out individually and eat them loose in your hand, or you can bite into it, pulling several away at once with tongue and teeth, red juice dripping down your chin and staining your clothes.

Each little berry contains a seed so small you usually have to swallow it with the berry — so that when I think of pomegranates, I think of those seeds in my teeth before I think of the flavor of the berry. 

I used to think I was like a Pomegranate: Not much to look at on the outside, full of gems on the inside,; but getting stuck in your head or staining your skin, if you get too close.  😜

 

Log in to write a note
June 20, 2020

I have tried eating this many times but I just find it too complicated to eat so I just look at them and wave as I go by them in the store.

June 21, 2020

I love those. They can be messy, but so worth it

June 24, 2020

I love pomegranates.