Sunday Gratitude, Sponsored by Covid-19

This morning, as I took my regularly scheduled third Sunday shower, I thought about all the images of grocery store shelves wiped out.  I thought about all the memes calling out those hoarding groceries, and saying ugly things about fellow human beings who are afraid.

And then I thought about what I’ve seen.  Maybe it’s because I’ve been trying to give up the negativity for Lent,  but I have seen kindness, generosity, and dedication.

It began when my neighbor sent me a message asking me if I needed anything before they went to run errands.  I was so moved by this.  In the midst of this craziness, she thought of me.

Later that same day, this was posted on our community Facebook group.

Neighbors offering to help

So much concern and generosity, right here on my little street.

Since then, I’ve been keeping an eye out for the good news.  I don’t mean the news that the virus has been defeated, though we should all be praying for that.  I mean that I have been looking for stories that demonstrate the good that I have seen.  They are out there:

And this one:
BLARGH

There are athletes and team owners who are paying the salaries of arena employees.  People are getting their meals from small businesses to help them stay open.

There is Dr. Gagliardi, my primary care doctor, who gave me an appointment before the office was officially open, so that I could see him before the office was crowded with sick people.
There is the former student of mine who is now a teacher and being expected to teach from a distance without warning.  I have many friends who are teachers and most of them are doing this.  But this particular teacher realized that many of her students have no internet access at home.  So she braved the busybody buttinskis at Kinko’s to make copies of materials to deliver to her students who would otherwise have no opportunity for school from home.  (Did I mention that she’s a former student?)  I’ve seen people volunteering to sew hospital masks to make up for the shortage.   I’ve seen multiple organizations and private individuals who have created content to keep us entertained in some form or another, while we’re all quarantined.

This is the America that I know.  This is what we need to remember.

Even the most reasonable person has to acknowledge that this is a scary time.   I count my blessings that my anxiety is well-manged, because if this had happened 30 years ago, I probably would have literally worried myself to death.  So be compassionate of those who are buying in panic.  As so many have said, this could be our shining moment.  After so much ugliness over the past few years, let’s not look for more reasons to be ugly.  Let us look for the positives.  Let us love our neighbors, especially those who are afraid.

Just be sure to keep six feet between you.   Be well.

 

Log in to write a note
March 23, 2020

Why does it take something like this to have people show their kindness?  I wish this was the “norm” everyday……

March 23, 2020

@jaythesmartone I think it is, for the most part.  It just doesn’t usually make news.  My mom was at a doctor’s appointment one day, and having a bit of a meltdown in the waiting room because her finances were out of control.  An elderly lady approached her and asked if she was ok, and my mom just poured it all out.  The woman took $600 out of her purse and gave it to my mother.  She told her that she’d been given the money and she didn’t need it.

When I lived in the Bay Area, it was common for the person ahead of you in a toll booth lane to sometimes pay your toll.  It happened for me, multiple times, and so I began to do it, too.

March 23, 2020

THIS THIS THIS THIS THIS THIS!! YES!! Thank you!

March 23, 2020

@snarkle 💖

March 23, 2020

There are many kind spirited people in world. We need to see this when times are crazy. Thank you for sharing. ❤

March 23, 2020

@thespiritwithinme, thank you for reading.  💖

March 23, 2020

It is so nice to see people and communities pulling together – for the most part, it seems that this has (so far) brought the good out in people, more than it has brought out the bad.

March 23, 2020
March 23, 2020

This is great! If anything, I’m staying positive and hopeful that some good changes come from this experience, from new perspectives. 🙂

March 23, 2020

@free_spirit_gal we con hope.

March 24, 2020

That’s so awesome to see little bits of kindness during a time like this.