TOTW69 – Bringing Happiness into Others’ Lives

This is going to sound like I’m bragging on myself, but this is the greatest source of joy in my life.  I love to see people smile, whether I know them or not.  I like to make people laugh, and I like to help people see that they are not the awful creatures that so many of us believe we are.

I think it began with my friendship with Adina.  I know it will sound silly, but once she got me into girly stuff like purses and shoes, we began to notice other women’s purses and shoes.  Try it, sometime, ladies.  Tell a stranger that you love her purse or shawl, or hair, or shoes.  It always lights up their faces.  I love those moments.

But there are other ways.  I have found that making eye contact with babies usually makes them grin.  Making a baby grin, usually makes their parents grin.  If it’s a tiny baby, I ask how old.  Most people love to talk about their children.

Volunteering is something that I do to make other people happy, but also to give myself joy.  I’ve been volunteering at the Middle School since January.  I love helping students understand something that they think they can’t understand.  I love making them giggle.  I love hearing them gasp when they finally understand something.  I think that gives them happiness.  I hope so, anyway.

 

Log in to write a note
March 14, 2020

You are my kind of person! I love to tell ladies “I LOVE that blouse/necklace/scarf/name and item! It’s just so perfect with your outfit/hair/eyes/whatever it is perfect with”. Once I told a young couple they had such beautiful smiles. They both blushed. I love it!

March 14, 2020

@snarkle 💖

March 14, 2020

I loved teaching years ago. I totally get what you are saying. It is very rewarding.

March 14, 2020

It does because I do the same thing…I will see someone with a funky hair color and I will tell them I love their hair or I will see that their shoes look really cool and I like the colors…and they always smile and say thank-you

March 14, 2020

Babies are a joy! 🙂 I like to make people smile too.

March 15, 2020

Making people smile can be great.