TOTW76 For Me?

This may sound like I’m tooting my own horn, but I really don’t care.  I love to make other people happy, and today, I won big!

One of my many nieces turned 18, today – mid-quarantine.  She hasn’t said a word about it being her birthday because she’s too heartbroken over her school deciding to have a virtual graduation.  She has worked really hard to graduate from high school with an International baccalaureate, which is apparently, so impressive I’ve never even heard of it.  She’s gone beyond AP classes and participated in theater among helping her mother run the family store.

So when I realized that today was the 11th and I hadn’t sent her anything, yet, I felt like a horrible human being.  I looked all over the internet to find a florist that delivers to their home/store in the middle of nowhere.  It was frustrating and expensive, but the joy her mother tells me she got from receiving them makes it worth 10 times that.

And that’s what brings me joy.  I love making people feel special.  Especially young people.
I’m so high on the joy of giving joy.

Log in to write a note
May 11, 2020

Awful that kids are missing important milestones because of this virus. 🙁   So nice you sent flowers.  🙂

May 11, 2020

There’s nothing wrong with enjoying the fact that a gesture you made had an impact. This is the stuff people need at all times, but especially right now.

May 11, 2020

You’re a wonderful aunt. You must be really proud of and happy for your niece that she’s graduating with an International Bacclaureate. I bet you that she’s going to get into Harvard or something.

May 11, 2020

you are a true sweetheart…

May 11, 2020

It’s a rush isn’t it? It lights you up inside to feel their happiness. Well done!

You are a wonderful person and Aunt. I have two Seniors on my block that are missing a bunch of milestones right now. I’m heartbroken for them.