Heat wave and Thailand.

We are in the midst of some atrocious weather. Yesterday and today it’s in the 40s and I think the forecast for tomorrow is for the same. Then slightly cooler for Sunday and Monday. Many bushfires in Victoria and NSW but thankfully not near us. As usual though, firebugs are suspected of causing some of them.
Sleeping has been so hard. I can cope with extremely hot weather but not when it’s also humid. That just about kills me as my house air con doesn’t work too well in humidity. Going to work has been a pleasure as the supermarkets have great air conditioning. But having to visit 3 or 4 times a day is hard. I’m ok getting there and working in the coolness, but having to leave and then get into the hot car multiple times is hard. Especially when the steering wheel burns the hands!
However, I can’t complain after seeing people have lost their homes to the fires, and one person has died.
Our dogs are finding the heat hard going too. We’ve been cooling them by hosing them down. The female isn’t too happy about it, but she does come when called, even when she sees the hose.lol We took them out early this morning for a walk, and I ended up having to carry her for a bit as she was walking slower and slower behind us. Just as well she’s only small.
The birds have been suffering a bit too in the heat. Magpies are hanging around the front garden, under the bird bath, with their beaks open. I didn’t know they panted like dogs. I threw some food out for the poor things and make sure the bird bath is always full.
My niece tells me her dad, my brother Ian, is settling in well in his new surroundings. I don’t think he is going out on walks yet, especially when the weather is so hot. He’s still happy and smiling. It is hard on his family though. He and his wife had plans to drive around Australia when he had retired. But at least he’s happy.
I spoke to Evan to ask how he was coping with the heat, as he doesn’t have air conditioning. He said he was sitting surrounded by 3 fans that were blowing hot air at him! I told him to try a damp towel pegged to one of the fans. I haven’t heard if it helped.
Next week I leave for Thailand. Melissa and I are meeting up in Bangkok. She and Luka have been snowboarding in Japan for a few weeks.
We both fly into Bangkok within 10 mins of each other, very early in the morning, and have arranged to get into our room right away.
Although Bangkok is unsettled with all the protests going on, it shouldn’t affect us once we leave the city. The only place I know for sure we are going is Koh Chang. The rest is a surprise! Can’t wait.
I’m glad I finally got in to OD to do this entry. I have the same name in Prosebox but haven’t done an entry there yet. Hopefully I won’t have to and OD keeps going.

Bye…….

Log in to write a note
January 16, 2014

I’m also hoping that OD doesn’t completely die. there’s been a lot on the news about the heat in Victoria. Can’t imagine heat like that! Have a good time in Thailand.

January 17, 2014

I don’t have time for OD glitches or for other blog sites these days. Very frustrating! Your heat wave sounds oppressive. RYN: It gets cold in FL. Last night, temperatures were near freezing. Thankfully, it’ll warm back up in a few days.

January 20, 2014

RYN: I cannot imagine surviving a winter on wood heat alone, but many homes up there are. I’ll stick with Florida!

January 30, 2014

Sorry but the word is that OD is gone…shut down in a week or two. Good luck to you and your wonderful travels!