My brother.

I called in to see my sister in law when I was in Melbourne. She was looking quite good, which I guess is the result of not having to look after my brother at their home. She had wanted to keep him at home for hopefully another year, but things came to a head a few weeks ago. Melbourne had an extremely hot day and Ian wanted to go out for a walk. He usually had a guy to accompany him on his walks, but he only came during the week. So Ian went out (Dorothy couldn’t persuade him not to). He was dressed in a jumper, coat and hat, even though it was hot. They live in a relatively small town out of Melbourne, but it took Dorothy hours to find him. He finally came home dripping with sweat. It was running down his arms and dripping from his fingers. He was severely dehydrated, and their daughter said it was time for full time care. So that’s where he is, in a nursing home.
We went to see him, but I don’t think he knew me. He was smiling all the time, but couldn’t converse with us. So sad, but he’s happy and the carers say he is always happy and smiling, which is the main thing.
He’s not allowed out yet, but when he settles in, the guy who went with him on walks is going to take him out often. It’s just as well we can’t see what’s ahead of us in life.
I also caught up with my family and friends. We went out for a girl’s night and had a lovely meal and great conversation. Nothing beats a good catch up with the girls.
My niece and her children have moved back in with her mother. I don’t know if her husband is still on ICE and have no idea where she will eventually stay. There’s really no room with her mother. The girls need their own space and so do her 2 younger boys.
Melissa heads to Japan on Sunday for some snowboarding. I think Luka is already there. Then after the snow, she has a week in Japan sightseeing before meeting me in Thailand on Jan 23rd where we will spend 10 days. That will be my last holiday for a while, as it was something I didn’t expect to do.
The weather has turned extremely hot here again. Bushfire warnings have been issued and I just hope none of the camping holidaymakers decide to light a camp fire. And if a see one person throwing a cigarette butt out of a car window, I will be taking the car rego number and reporting it to the police. Some people just have no sense.

OK that’s it for now.

Bye………………

Log in to write a note
December 27, 2013

Sad about your brother, but at least he’s happy and smiling. Very different weather here. Icy cold strong winds and pouring rain!

December 27, 2013

I am sorry to hear about your brother. Family is everything. However, if he is happy then perhaps the ones who are having the most discomfort are the ones around him. Don’t we all seem to do that at times–suffer more than the person we think is having a difficult time? I hope he gets in lots of lovely walks 🙂

I am sorry to hear about your brother, but I am glad he is in a safe place and so much pressure is off his wife.

December 29, 2013

I’m afraid that is going to be my brothers fate soon. He is beginning to be too much for my SIL to handle.

December 29, 2013

I’m with you with the ciggy butts from car windows. Heading over your way for the day today. I will look out for you. 🙂

I do hope that your brother’s last days are at least happy and peaceful. It’s a hard time when these difficult decisions must be made .. glad for you about the obviousl enjoyment you get from your family … it must be wonderful. Lots of good wishes for 2014.

January 3, 2014

Tough news for your brother, but what a blessing that he really doesn’t know. **HUGS** It’s cold here today, but should warm up in a few days. Throwing cigarette butts out car windows is irresponsible.

January 8, 2014

I am so sorry about your brother. This disease robs everyone of the person we know. I am glad he is happy and smiling and that his walking buddy will continue. Sending you positive energy~~~